New Zealand announce squad for West Indies Test series

Kane Wiliamson will captain the 12-man squad that was announced for the first Test
Kane Williamson will captain the 12-man squad that was announced for the first Test

New Zealand have announced a 12-man squad for the first home Test against West Indies. Kane Williamson will captain the side that will have one player added while the availability of wicketkeeper BJ Watling, who is currently nursing a hip injury, will be monitored and evaluated over the coming week.

New Zealand have gone with a pace quartet of Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Neil Wagner and Matt Henry and just a solitary spinner in Mitchell Santner. Colin de Grandhomme features as the genuine all-rounder and the likes of Ross Taylor and Tom Latham also feature in the batting department.

New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (C), Jeet Raval, Tom Latham, Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, Mitchell Santner, BJ Watling (WK), Colin de Grandhomme, Trent Boult, Tim Southee, Matt Henry, Neil Wagner.

Speaking about the squad, selector Gavin Larsen said: “Aside from a question mark over BJ, we have a fully fit squad who have all shown they have what it takes to perform at Test level. We want to hit the ground running for that first match at the Basin Reserve. It’s a special place to play cricket and we’re determined to start the summer on a positive note.”

West Indies' tour of New Zealand begins with a 3-day practice match against New Zealand 'A' on November 25. The two-Test series begins on December 1 at Wellington with the second one being played at Hamilton from December 9. The two teams then take part in three ODIs and three T20Is with the tour concluding on January 3.

Along with the senior side, the New Zealand 'A' squad, which will be captained by Martin Guptill was also announced. Only one member of the Test squad, Jeet Raval, features in the 'A' team that has the fearsome pace trio of Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne and Scott Kuggeleijn and white-ball specialists Colin Munro and Tom Bruce.

New Zealand 'A' squad: Martin Guptill (C), Jeet Raval, Colin Munro, Todd Astle, George Worker, Tom Blundell, Neil Broom, Tom Bruce, Lockie Ferguson, Scott Kuggeleijn, Adam Milne

Brand-new app in a brand-new avatar! Download CricRocket for fast cricket scores, rocket flicks, super notifications and much more! 🚀☄️

Quick Links

Edited by Arvind Sriram