New Zealand vs West Indies 2017: West Indies make multiple changes to limited-overs squads

West Indies v Zimbabwe - 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup
West Indies will miss the services of Marlon Samuels and Alzarri Joseph in the limited-overs leg of their New Zealand tour
Himanshu Agrawal

Middle-order bat Marlon Samuels and fast bowler Alzarri Joseph have been ruled out of the ODI and T20 legs of the New Zealand tour. Samuels and Joseph had been named in both squads, and spinner Sunil Narine, selected only in the T20 team, will also miss the series.

While injuries have ruled out Samuels and Joseph โ€“ the latter injured his right hand whereas a back strain has forced the former out โ€“ Narine has taken himself out of contention owing to personal reasons. West Indies have named left-arm pacer Sheldon Cottrell and wicket-keeper batsman Chadwick Walton, who was initially a part of only the T20 squad, as replacements for the injured Joesph and Samuels.

Cottrell's last game for West Indies came in an ODI against South Africa at Centurion in January 2015. His recent success for West Indies A in two List A matches against Sri Lanka A at home prompted the selectors to give him a go, as he bagged 4/44 and 4/19 in the two games. Also, in the CPL 2017, he prospered, picking 11 wickets in six matches at merely 12.54 runs per wicket and a measly economy rate of 6.57. Walton, 32, on the other hand, represented his country in the only T20 on the England tour earlier this year, having first played for West Indies in 2009, when a second-string squad had replaced the first-choice players who were protesting against their low salaries.

Among others changes in the T20 squad, middle-order batsman Shai Hope has now taken Samuels' place while Narine's spot has gone to off-spinner Ashley Nurse, who had initially been ignored for the T20s.

Moreover, Sunil Ambris, who fractured his left forearm during the second Test at Hamilton, has also been ruled out of the ODI series with Shimron Hetmyer taking his place. Ambris hurt his arm while unsuccessfully attempting to fend off a short ball from Neil Wagner during the second Test. West Indies eventually lost the game and surrendered the series 2-0 following a loss in the previous game at Wellington.

The limited-overs leg of the series consists of three ODIs and T20s each, commencing with the first ODI at Nelson from December 20 and concluding with the final T20 at Mount Maunganui on January 3.

Edited by Arvind Sriram


Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...