T20 World Cup 2022: Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for the tournament; Dushmantha Chameera's involvement subject to fitness

Pakistan v Sri Lanka - Final DP World Asia Cup
Sri Lanka are in red-hot form after winning their last five T20Is

Sri Lanka Cricket on Friday (September 16) announced a 15-member squad for the T20 World Cup 2022 in Australia, beginning next month. Dasun Shanaka's side have also named five standby players, with a couple of injury concerns in the main squad.

The 2022 Asia Cup champions have named the in-form Pathum Nissanka and Kusal Mendis while the struggling Charith Asalanka continues to be backed.

All-rounders Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, skipper Shanaka and Chamika Karunaratne are expected to play key roles as well.

Here's your πŸ‡±πŸ‡° squad for the ICC Men's T20 World Cup! ⬇️#RoaringForGlory #T20WorldCup

Three players from the winning campaign in the UAE will miss out on the upcoming tournament. Matheesha Pathirana, Nuwan Thushara, and Asitha Fernando haven't made the final cut for the T20 World Cup.

The inclusion of Dushmantha Chameera and Lahiru Kumara comes as a huge boost for Sri Lanka. However, their involvement is reliant on their recovery from their respective injuries.

Spearhead of the bowling attack, Chameera, sustained a calf injury ahead of the Asia Cup, from which he is currently recuperating. There hasn't been much news on Kumara, who has also been out of action for a while now.

πŸ“Έ Post Tournament Briefing | Men’s #AsiaCup (Picture Credit - SLC)

The duo could prove to be instrumental and handy on the bouncy surfaces Down Under should they recover in time for the tournament.

Kumara has been known to touch the 150 kmph mark while Chameera had a fruitful campaign in Australia earlier this year. The latter claimed seven wickets across five matches during Sri Lanka's 1-4 series defeat against the hosts.

The strength of the pace attack has improved with the inclusion of youngster Dilshan Madushanka, who had a breakthrough campaign at the Asia Cup. The left-arm pacer played in all of Sri Lanka's six matches in the UAE. He played a key role in their win over India in the Super 4 stage with figures of 3/24.

Explosive left-handed batter Bhanuka Rajapaksa, who was the Player of the Match in the Asia Cup final against Pakistan, has also retained his place in the squad.

Veteran wicket-keeper batter Dinesh Chandimal, whose last T20I appearance came in February 2022 against India, could only make the standby list. The list also includes Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Binura Fernando and Nuwanidu Fernando.

Only Bandara and Jayawickrama will travel to Australia with the main squad, while the remaining players will be called up if and when required.

Sri Lanka squad for the T20 World Cup 2022

T20 World Cup squad: Dasun Shanaka (c), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera (subject to fitness), Lahiru Kumara (subject to fitness), Dilshan Madushanka, Pramod Madushan.

Standby Players: Ashen Bandara, Praveen Jayawickrema, Dinesh Chandimal, Binura Fernando, Nuwanidu Fernando.

Will Sri Lanka mount a serious challenge at the T20 World Cup 2022 on the back of their Asia Cup success? Let us know what you think.

Get the IND vs NZ Live Score for the 3rd ODI and follow Sportskeeda for all the latest Cricket News.

Quick Links

Edited by Anantaajith Ra
Be the first one to comment