Favorites Edit

Stats: Rohit Sharma creates unwanted record in India's crushing defeat

Arvind Sriram
3.43K   //    06 Mar 2018, 22:44 IST

<p src=" />

Sri Lanka handed Rohit Sharma his first defeat as skipper of the Indian team in T20Is, after they came away with a 5-wicket victory in the opening encounter of the Nidahas Trophy.

India got off to a miserable start as Rohit's torrid run continued, dismissed for a duck yet again. Suresh Raina followed soon after, but Shikhar Dhawan's onslaught propelled India to 174.

However, in response, the hosts got off to a flier, with Kusal Perera smashing 27 runs off a Shardul Thakur over.

That provided enough impetus for the Lankans to canter to victory with Perera and Shanuka taking them across the finish line.

Here's looking at the all the numbers from the first game of the Nidahas Trophy:

1 - The first time that Shikhar Dhawan has hit more than 2 sixes in a T20I innings.

1 - First limited-overs international played by India in Sri Lanka without MS Dhoni since his debut in 2004.

1 - India's first loss in Sri Lanka in any format since the Galle Test on 15 Aug 2015.

1 - Rohit Sharma's first loss as skipper of the Indian team in T20Is.


2 - Shardul Thakur conceded 27 runs in an over today, the second most by an Indian in T20Is after Stuart Binny's 32.

5 - Rohit Sharma's fifth duck in T20Is.

7 - India's streak of seven consecutive wins in T20Is against Sri Lanka came to an end today.

12 - The number of times Rohit Sharma has been dismissed for a duck in the last five years (the most by an Indian)

22 - Kusal Perera's 50 off 22 balls is the second fastest half-century by a Sri Lankan in T20Is.

49.25 - Shikhar Dhawan's average against Sri Lanka in T20Is (5 innings)

75 - Sri Lanka's 75 in the first six overs were the second most runs scored against India in the powerplay in T20Is.

90 - Shikhar Dhawan's 90 is the highest by an Indian in T20Is in Sri Lanka, eclipsing Virat Kohli's 82 against Sri Lanka at Colombo (RPS) in 2017. 

175 - Sri Lanka's second highest run-chase in T20Is.

175 - The highest successful run-chase at the Premadasa Stadium. 174 was the previous record, held by both India and Pakistan.

Topics you might be interested in:
Arvind Sriram
Fetching more content...