Favorites Edit

Pakistan vs South Africa ODI series Preview

1.02K   //    17 Jan 2019, 23:21 IST

Pakistan vs South Africa ODI series is set to begin on the 19th of January.
Pakistan vs South Africa ODI series is set to begin on the 19th of January.

After having a disastrous test series, Pakistan is all set to play ODI series against South Africa. The ODI between Pakistan and South Africa series will start on 19 January. First ODI will be played at St George's Park, Port Elizabeth. Pakistan will surely look to start ODI series with a win.

South Africa have rested Dale Steyn and Quinton de Kock from the first two ODIs against Pakistan and named Duanne Olivier and Aiden Markram as their replacement. Heinrich Klaasen will pick up the keeping gloves in de Kock's absence. Duanne Olivier will make his ODI debut following his terrific performance in the test series.

In the Pakistani squad, the likes of Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez and Babar Azam are there without any surprises. Fakhar Zaman will be a key factor for Pakistan as we all know that how dangerous he can be once he gets going.

On the other side the squad of South Africa is also strong in which great players like Hashim Amla, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, Kagiso Rabada and David Miller are present. South Africa has David Miller who is very dangerous when it coming to smashing the ball all around the park. Hashim Amla will also be looking to score some runs at the top.The biggest threat to the Pakistanis batsman is Kagiso Rabada. Pakistanis batsman should play him sensibly in order to score runs from his overs.

Pakistan ODI Squad: Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed(c), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim.

South Africa squad for first two ODIs: Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Duanne Olivier, Rassie van der Dussen, Faf du Plessis(c), Hashim

Amla, Aiden Markram, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Dane Paterson.