⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Priyam Garg to lead India Under-19 World Cup 2020 squad in South Africa

Aakash Arya
02 Dec 2019, 11:18 IST

Yashasvi Jaiswal
Yashasvi Jaiswal

Defending Champions India, on Monday, announced their 15-member squad for the 13th edition of the Under-19 World Cup 2020.

India have been grouped along-side Japan, New Zealand, and Sri Lanka in Group A for the event scheduled from January 17 to February 9 in South Africa. Two teams from each group will qualify for the Super League with India starting their title defense against Sri Lanka on January 19.

Right hand-batsman from Uttar Pradesh, Priyam Garg has been handed the responsibility of captaining the side, while another right-hand batsman from UP, Dhruv Chand Jurel has been appointed as his deputy, with Kumal Kushagra handling the main keeping duties.

Yashasvi Jaiswal, who has been included in the side on the back of a bright start in the Vijay Hazare Trophy this year that included a double ton will be the player to watch out for in the World Cup. 

Talking about the balance in the squad and chances of this team defending their crown, U-19 coach Rahul Dravid sounded optimistic and hopeful, while he also lauded the selectors for picking a talented side. Speaking to Sportstar, Dravid said -

"We have got a good balance in the team. We probably had more all-rounders in last year's team. But in terms of balance, the selectors have done a fine job in picking a good side.” 
"So, if the conditions in South Africa aid the fast bowlers, we will have a pretty good attack. We have got batting down to seven, eight, nine. We have got spinners. We had enough competition for places, so that was nice to see."

Under Prithvi Shaw's captaincy, India won the 2018 edition of the tournament to register the country's fourth U-19 World Cup title after they beat Australia by eight wickets in the final that took place in New Zealand. 

Prithvi Shaw (left) and Shubman Gill (right)
Prithvi Shaw (left) and Shubman Gill (right)

India squad for U-19 World Cup 2020

Priyam Garg (captain), Dhruv Chand Jurel (vice-captain and wk), Kumar Kushagra (wk), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Divyaansh Saxena, Shashwat Rawat, Divyansh Joshi, Shubhang Hegde, Ravi Bishnoi, Akash Singh, Kartik Tyagi, Atharva Ankolekar, Sushant Mishra, Vidyadhar Patil.

Fetching more content...