Favorites Edit

Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Seventh Round Day 3 Round-up: Gautam Gambhir fails, Shreyas Iyer sizzles

6.81K   //    23 Nov 2016, 17:37 IST
Gautam Gambhir
Gautam Gambhir hasn’t had a great week so far

Not picked for the England series, Shreyas Iyer has the perfect response in Mumbai’s encounter with Gujarat. Delhi are in with a chance of winning on day four while Karnataka are on course for their first defeat of this year’s tournament after day three of the seventh round of this year’s Ranji Trophy.

It was a contrasting day for Indian openers after Delhi’s bowlers set the platform by bowling out Team Rajasthan for 221 and set them a target of 153 to chase. However, it didn't all go according to plan as captain Gautam Gambhir failed again while Shikhar Dhawan ensured Delhi got to the close of play just 102 runs behind the target.

Delhi’s chase of 153 got off to a terrible start as in-form Pant was dismissed for a duck on day three of the clash, following his 75 in the first innings, while captain Gambhir was caught behind for just two as Delhi ended the day on 51/3 courtesy of Dhawan’s unbeaten 35.

Team Rajasthan 238 and 221 vs Delhi 307 and 51/3

Karnataka might be heading for their first loss of this year's Ranji Trophy and have their winning streak ended by Odisha as they go into the final day with a lead of just 81, having already lost six wickets. Odisha took a 163-run lead after bowling out Karnataka for just 179 and will be confident about their chances of winning this encounter.

A fifty-run partnership for the last wicket meant Odisha finished on 342. In response, Karnataka’s in-form opener R Samarth continued his good form but only CM Gautam got a fifty as the batsmen couldn’t convert their starts into a big score.

At the end of day three, Vinay Kumar’s side are precariously placed at 244/6, with a lead of just 81 runs. Even though a well-set Gautam is at the crease, they will do well to emerge from anything other than a defeat in this encounter.

Odisha 342 vs Karnataka 179 and 244/6

Mumbai are in with a fighting chance of overhauling Gujarat’s massive 437 on the back of an unbeaten 191 from Shreyas Iyer who helped his side finish the day just 109 runs behind with four wickets still in hand after day three of their clash at the KSCA Hubli stadium.

Beginning the day on 58/3, Mumbai’s chances of avoiding the follow-on looked tough, let alone taking the first innings lead but Shreyas Iyer almost single-handedly took his side past the follow-on with a realistic chance of taking the lead. Jasprit Bumrah was the star with the ball, taking four wickets while another Indian international Dhawal Kulkarni, was the only other support for Iyer on day three.

Gujarat 437 vs Mumbai 328/6

Kaushik Gandhi’s career-best first class score helped Tamil Nadu take a crucial first innings lead on day three of their clash against Punjab at the VCA stadium. In response to Punjab’s 284, Tamil Nadu scored 354 before they were eventually bowled out, taking a 70-run lead in the process.


Leading the way for Abhinav Mukund’s side was Gandhi, who despite losing partners at regular intervals at the other end continued along his merry way and eventually finished with 164 before being the last man to be dismissed.

In response to Tamil Nadu’s lead, Punjab lost opener Jiwanjot Singh early but had a steady end to the day with a lead of 51 thanks to Manan Vohra and Mandeep Singh. With two set batsmen at the crease and just a slender lead, this game looks set to be a draw but a couple of early wickets and things could change in a hurry.

Tamil Nadu 354 vs Punjab 284 and 121/2

Brief scores

Group A

Madhya Pradesh 356/5 vs Railways 371

Group B

Vidarbha  347 vs Saurashtra 301 and 92/2

Maharashtra 542 vs Assam 256 and 115/6 

Group C

Services 401 and 197/4 vs Himachal Pradesh 296

Tripura 297 vs Jammu and Kashmir 315 and 198/3

Haryana 392/3 vs Goa 413

Hyderabad 351 and 115/9 vs Chhattisgarh 188

Kerala 219 and 229/5 vs Andhra 226

Topics you might be interested in:
An author, poet, soft skills trainer and sports enthusiast, who has a Masters in Sports Journalism and NCTJ-accredited level 3 Diploma in Journalism
Fetching more content...