⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Ravichandran Ashwin, VVS Laxman picked in fans' All-Time Indian Test XI organised by BCCI

  • The team was picked by the fans through a voting system.
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 08:05 IST
Ravichandran Ashwin finds a place in the team

One of the features of the 500th Test between India and New Zealand at the Green Prak Stadium in Kanpur has been the number of All-Time XIs that have been picked by various members of the commentary panel.

Sanjay Manjrekar, Laxman Sivaramakrishnan, Aakash Chopra have all selected their respective 11 Indian players, who should form the greatest Indian Test team of all time.

Joining in the celebrations now are the fans, who have now voted for their own All-Time XI organised by the BCCI, through a voting system and the team forms an interesting mixture of past greats and moderns greats of Indian cricket.

For every position in the team, as many as four players were picked and the fans had to vote for the one who they thought would fit into that slot in the playing.

The All-Time XI was picked based on a voting system on the Indian Cricket Team Facebook page

Sunil Gavaskar and Virender Sehwag, who have been picked as the opening combination in most All-Time XIs, will take guard in the supporter’s XI, as well. The former received 68% of the votes from the supporters while the latter got 86% of the votes.

At Number 3 will be Rahul Dravid, who was almost undisputedly voted to bat at that position, receiving a whopping 96% votes. His partner in many a big stand- Sachin Tendulkar- will come in at 4, receiving 68% of the votes.

Another member of the 'Fab 5'- VVS Laxman- will bat 5, after receiving 58% of votes and he will be followed by Kapil Dev, who got 91% of the votes.


MS Dhoni will be both captain and wicket-keeper of the team after getting 90% of votes. Ravichandran Ashwin, who earlier today played a stellar role in India’s win in the Kanpur Test, will come in at number 8 after getting 53% of the votes.

Spin legend and present India head coach Anil Kumble will come at number 9 after getting 92% of the votes and will be followed by state mate Javagal Srinath, who got 78% of the votes.

Srinath will perhaps open the bowling with Zaheer Khan, who rounds off the XI after getting 83% of the votes.

Another talking point of the team is the selection of the 12th man. There were several other legends who missed out on featuring in the team, but fans perhaps took the emotional angle and gave the maximum number of votes to Yuvraj Singh, who got 62% of the votes.

Interestingly, Yuvraj is the only left-handed batsman in the squad.

The fan’s All-Time XI: Sunil Gavaskar, Virender Sehwag, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, VVS Laxman, Kapil Dev, MS Dhoni(C&WK), Ravichandran Ashwin, Anil Kumble, Javagal Srinath, Zaheer Khan, Yuvraj Singh(12th Man).

Published 26 Sep 2016, 12:48 IST
Fetching more content...