Favorites Edit

Reports: Dinesh Karthik latest Indian cricketer to sign up for Dhaka Premier League

13.22K   //    12 Jun 2016, 11:03 IST
Dinesh Karthik goes into the DPL with a lot of expectations to meet

A lot of Indian cricketers have moved to the 50-over Dhaka Premier League this season following the relaxation of the BCCI rule that barred players from participating in overseas List-A tournaments. According to reports, Dinesh Karthik is the latest star to have jumped on the Dhaka bandwagon. He shall be turning out for Abahani Limited, which have featured Yusuf Pathan and Manoj Tiwary this season.

Pathan and Tiwary are both set to return to India following Abahani’s progress to the Super League stage, and so Karthik has been brought in as an able replacement for the team’s upcoming matches. The 31-year-old is set to make his DPL debut on June 15 against traditional rivals Mohammedan Sporting.

Taskin Ahmed and Tamim Iqbal are some of Abahani’s biggest local stars, but it is Pathan who lit up the Dhaka Premier League this season. The competition allows any number of foreign signings for a team, but only one can feature in the playing XI.

Karthik was part of the Gujarat Lions side in the IPL this year, who impressed on their debut. His form with the bat as well as with the gloves were a vital part of the Lions’ first campaign, and he goes into the DPL with a lot of expectations to fulfil.

The recent move by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to allow its players to feature in List A matches outside India has led to a number of domestic cricketers move across the border. While Jatin Saxena and Jalaj Saxena are playing for Kalabagan Cricket Academy and Legends of Rupganj respectively, Delhi all-rounder Milind Kumar features for Brothers Union.

Haryana’s Sachin Rana has turned out in two matches for Prime Bank Cricket Club with Manvinder Bisla also turning out for Abahani before he was replaced by Tiwary. Some of the other Indians who have played in the Dhaka League’s history are Raman Lamba, Yuvraj Singh, Ajay Jadeja, Arun Lal, Ashok Malhotra, Iqbal Abdulla, Rajat Bhatia, Chetan Sharma, Sanjeev Sharma, Rohan Gavaskar, Amol Muzumdar and Aakash Chopra.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...