Favorites Edit

Shane Warne leaves out Michael Bevan from all-time Australian ODI XI

7.65K   //    09 Jan 2015, 15:45 IST
Shane Warne excluded Michael Bevan from his all-time Australia ODI XI

Sydney, Jan 9 - Legendary leg-spinner Shane Warne, on Friday, opted to exclude Michael Bevan, one of the game’s greatest finishers, from his all-time Australia One-Day International (ODI) XI.

Always controversial, Warne omitted ODI legend Bevan, widely regarded as Australia's greatest-ever finisher after averaging 53.58 across 232 matches.

Warne named his all-time Australian ODI XI during the tea break on day four of the fourth Test between Australia and India at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) on Friday.

Australia's greatest-ever Test wicket-taker picked three 1999 ICC World Cup teammates at the top of the order in Mark Waugh, Adam Gilchrist and Ricky Ponting, while former captains Greg Chappell and Allan Border were slotted in either side of injured skipper Michael Clarke.

Despite the majority of Warne's XI receiving the full support of his fellow Wide World of Sports commentators, Mark Taylor did chide the leg-spinner for selecting himself in the side.

"Warnie," Taylor started, "being the shy, retiring type, would probably have left himself out of his own team and picked Peter Taylor - the off-spinner."

"A very good one-day bowler, handy bat."

"You guys told me to put myself in," Warne laughed, "don't try and turn it around."

Shane Warne’s all-time Australia ODI XI: Mark Waugh, Adam Gilchrist, Ricky Ponting, Greg Chappell, Michael Clarke, Allan Border, Andrew Symonds, Mitchell Johnson, Shane Warne, Dennis Lillee, Glenn McGrath

Reserves: Matthew Hayden, Dean Jones, Michael Hussey, Gary Gilmour, Brett Lee

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...