Favorites Edit

Dale Steyn preferred over Morne Morkel in South Africa's World T20 squad

34.35K   //    10 Feb 2016, 21:53 IST
Dale Steyn included while Morne Morkel was dropped
Dale Steyn included while Morne Morkel was dropped

There was a huge surprise in store as South Africa announced their 15 men 2016 World T20 squad sans pacer Morne Morkel and all-rounder Albie Morkel. Morne has been South Africa’s bowling spearhead in the absence of Dale Steyn and had a decent tour to India late last year. His elder brother, Albie is considered as a T20 specialist and he was expected to be a part of the squad.

Pacer Dale Steyn has been surprisingly named in the squad, subject to regaining full fitness. Steyn sat out six of South Africa's eight Tests this summer (against India and England) and got injured in the other two matches he played, first with a groin injury (against India) and then a shoulder niggle (against England) from which he is still recovering.

He was not a part of the ongoing ODI series against England but is expected to return for the T20 series against England and Australia before the WT20. Faf du Plessis was named the captain of the squad that has seven frontline batsmen, three fast bowling all-rounders, two spinners and three pacers.

Leg spinner Eddie Leie, who is considered as a T20 specialist misses out from the squad as the Proteas decide to go in with leggie Imran Tahir and slow left-arm spinner Aaron Phangiso as the two frontline spinners.

Squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, David Wiese.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...