Favorites Edit

Sri Lanka tour of Australia 2019: Preview

Nitin Riaan
845   //    09 Jan 2019, 09:45 IST

Sri Lanka will play two Tests Down Under
Sri Lanka will play two Tests Down Under

After a poor performance in New Zealand both in Tests and ODIs, the Sri Lankan side will head to Australia for a two-match Test series. Before they face the Australian team in the first Test (day/night) from 24 January at the Gabba in Brisbane, they will be playing a three-day practice match against Cricket Australia XI from 17-19 January.

Sri Lankan Team News

Sri Lanka lost to New Zealand in a two-match Test series 1-0 which was held in December 2018 in New Zealand.

After what India did to Australia, Sri Lanka will be looking to learn from India and break their streak of not winning a Test match in Australia. This won't be easy but with the likes of in-form Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Mendis, Dilruwan Perera etc. they will look to give some tough competition.

Kusal Perera
Kusal Perera

Angelo Mathews has been left out due to his hamstring injury. Danushka Gunathilaka, who was their opener in the New Zealand tour, has been dropped from the side for he just had 16 runs in that series. Kusal Perera, the hard-hitting batsman, has been included in the Lankan squad. The main reason behind his inclusion is his performance in ODIs against the Kiwis where he scored a century. Perea last played a Test match back in June 2018 against Windies in an away series.

Australian Team News

After facing a mortifying historical 2-1 loss against India in their own backyard, the kangaroos will be hoping to bounce back. Losing again to another Asian team in Tests consecutively will not be less than a nightmare for them and will put all their efforts to win the series.

Australia announced a 13-member squad with a few changes prior to the last series against India. Peter Handscomb, Shaun and Mitchell Marsh and Aaron Finch have been dropped from the side and named Joe Burns, Matt Renshaw and Will Pucovski as their replacements.

Will Pucovski
Will Pucovski

Burns and Renshaw will be making a comeback in the Test team while 20-year-old Pucovski the Victorian batsman earns his maiden call-up for the Australian national team.



First Test: 24-28 January 2019, The Gabba, Brisbane, 8:30 AM LIVE IST*

Second Test: 1-5 February 2019, Manuka Oval, Canberra, 5:00 AM LIVE IST

*Sri Lanka's Standard Time is the same as that of India.

Sri Lanka's Squad

Dinesh Chandimal (C), Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Dimuth Karunaratne, Kusal Perera, Dilruwan Perera, Niroshan Dickwella (WK), Kasun Rajitha, Dusmantha Chameera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara, Roshen Silva, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Lakshan Sandakan and Lahiru Thirimane.

Australia's Squad

Tim Paine (C & WK), Usman Khawaja, Matt Renshaw, Marcus Harris Travis Head, Josh Hazelwood, Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Joe Burns, Peter Siddle and Will Pucovski.

Fetching more content...