Favorites Edit

Stats: Colin Munro's world record-breaking century in numbers

30.80K   //    03 Jan 2018, 13:10 IST

New Zealand v West Indies - 3rd T20
Colin Munro brought up his third T20I century

West Indies bore the brunt of another record-breaking effort by New Zealand opener Colin Munro at the Bay Oval in Mount Maunganui in the third T20I. Munro scored his third T20I century (all of them have come in the last 12 months) and helped New Zealand end their innings on 243/5.

After the hosts won the toss and elected to bat, Martin Guptill and Munro got them off to the perfect start. Guptill was dismissed for 63, from just 38 balls but he had already added 136 for the opening wicket along with Munro. While the right-hander departed, Munro stayed on and continued his record-breaking spree.

He brought up his century in 47 balls and became the first player to score three T20I centuries, thereby claiming the world record for most centuries in T20Is. He was eventually dismissed for 104.

Here are some of the incredible numbers behind Munro's breathtaking century:

0 - No player has scored more runs in a bilateral T20I series than Colin Munro. Hamilton Masakadza held the previous record with 222 runs (four matches) against Bangladesh in 2016. Now Munro holds the record courtesy of his 223 in the three-match T20I series against West Indies.

1 - Colin Munro became the first batsman to score three T20I centuries. Rohit Sharma, Evin Lewis, Chris Gayle and Brendon McCull all have two T20I centuries.

2 - Colin Munro became the second player after Virat Kohli to score three fifties in a bilateral T20I series. Virat Kohli scored 90*, 59* and 50 against Australia in 2016 while Munro scored 53, 66 and 104.

3 - Australia's Percy McDonnell was the first player to hit three hundreds in Tests. England's Denis Amiss was the first player to hit three ODI hundreds and Munro became the first to get to three centuries in T20Is.

4 - Only four batsmen have scored more sixes in a T20I innings than the 10 Colin Munro managed in his 104 against West Indies. Aaron Finch holds the record for most sixes in a T20I innings with 14, Richard Levi (13), Evin Lewis (12) and Chris Gayle (11) are the others to have hit more sixes in a T20I innings.


5 - Only five batsmen have scored a T20I century faster than Colin Munro, who got to his hundred off 47 balls. Rohit Sharma and David Miller hold the record, having got there in just 35 balls. Richard Levi (45), KL Rahul and Faf du Plessis (46) are the only others to have scored a faster T20I century.

10 - Munro's century included 10 sixes, which equalled Corey Anderson's New Zealand record for most sixes in a T20I innings.

47 - Colin Munro got his century off 47 balls, which is the fastest hundred by a New Zealand player in T20Is. Brendon McCullum held the previous record courtesy of his 50-ball century against Australia at Christchurch in 2010.

Topics you might be interested in:
An author, poet, soft skills trainer and sports enthusiast, who has a Masters in Sports Journalism and NCTJ-accredited level 3 Diploma in Journalism
Fetching more content...