Favorites Edit

Stats: India maintain unbeaten streak at Wanderers

13.17K   //    27 Jan 2018, 21:39 IST

South Africa v India - 3rd Test Day 3
Indian pacers helped India maintain their unbeaten run at the Wanderers

Mohammad Shami's five-wicket haul in the second innings on day four helped India avoid a whitewash and claim their first victory on this tour at Johannesburg. India beat South Africa by 63 runs and ensured that the Proteas only claimed a 2-1 victory in the three-match series.

Needing 241 for victory, South Africa began day four with a tough task on their hands. Although Hashim Amla and Dean Elgar did their best to claim an improbable victory, Shami's fiery spell ensured that Kohli claimed his first win as Test captain in South Africa.

Here are some interesting numbers from the third Test:

0 - Never in the history of Tests has all 120 wickets fallen in a three-match Test series. The previous record was 118 but all 120 wickets fell in this Test series.

1 - India are the only team to have never lost at the Wanderers. They extended their incredible streak to five Tests, winning two and drawing 3.

1 - This is the first time in India's Test history that all 20 wickets have been taken by fast bowlers.

1 - Bhuvneshwar Kumar became the first Indian player to pick up at least 10 wickets and score 100 runs in a Test series in South Africa.

2 - This was the second time that Dean Elgar has carried his bat in a Test. Since readmission, Elgar became the first SA batsman to achieve this feat twice (Gary Kirsten has done it once).

3 - Virat Kohli becomes only the third Indian captain after Rahul Dravid and MS Dhoni to win a Test match in South Africa.


5 - Five Indian bowlers picked up a five-wicket haul in the Wanderers, their most at any venue in South Africa. Courtesy of their five-wicket haul in this Test, Bumrah and Shami join Kumble, Srinath and Sreesanth.

6 - Elgar become only the sixth batsman in Test history to carry the bat on more than one occasion. He joins B Woodfull, L Hutton, B Lawry and G Turner, who have all done it twice. Only D Haynes (3) has done it more often.

11.25 - The batting average of the wicketkeepers in this series is the lowest in a Test series in 1959 where they have batted at least 12 innings.

21 - Virat Kohli now has 21 wins as Test captain, going level with Sourav Ganguly. Only MS Dhoni (27) has won more.

1990 - The last time a spinner didn't bowl a single delivery in a completed Test before this Test was in 1990 (WI-ENG)