Favorites Edit

Stats: Virat Kohli becomes first Indian to 7000 T20 runs

5.28K   //    04 Nov 2017, 22:36 IST

Virat Kohli continued on his record-breaking run
Virat Kohli continued on his record-breaking run

New Zealand got back on level terms in the T20I series after beating India in the second T20I at Rajkot by 40 runs. Colin Munro's unbeaten century proved to be the difference as the players head to Thiruvananthapuram with the series at 1-1.

On the back of Colin Munro's unbeaten century, New Zealand posted 196/2 in their 20 overs. A century partnership for the opening wicket got them off to the perfect start and although India's death bowlers brought things back at the end, Munro's century still ensured India needed to chase nearly 200 to claim victory.

In reply, India lost both openers to Trent Boult in his first over. Although Virat Kohli scored a valiant fifty, they never got ahead of the required rate and ended up losing the game despite the heroics of Kohli and Dho

Here are some interesting numbers from the second T20I:

0 - No batsman has scored more runs in a T20I match in India than Colin Munro (109*). He broke the record previously held by Rohit Sharma, after his 106 against South Africa in 2015.

1 - Virat Kohli is the first Indian batsman to score 7,000 runs in T20s. He got to the mark in his 212th innings. He is the second-quickest to reach that mark behind Chris Gayle (192).

1 - Colin Munro is the first player in history to score two T20I centuries in the same calendar year.

2 - Virat Kohli is now the second highest run-getter in T20Is. Only Brendon McCullum (2140) has more runs in the format.

2 - Only two bowlers has conceded more than Mohammed Siraj (1/53) on T20I debut, which is the second-most by Indian behind Joginder Sharma's 57 runs against South Africa in the 2007 World T20. Overall, Siraj's is the third-most expensive behind James Anderson and Joginder Sharma.

4 - Colin Munro became only the fourth player after Brendon McCullum, Chris Gayle and Evin Lewis to score two T20I centuries.

8 - Virat Kohli became only the eighth batsman to score 7,000 T20 runs. He joins an elite list that includes Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum, Kieron Pollard, David Warner, Brad Hodge, Dwayne Smith and Shoaib Malik.

36 - Kohli just became the 36th batsman to bat in 50 or more T20I innings. He is already the second-highest run-getter in the format.

91 - The previous-best individual score by a batsman against India in India was Brendon McCullum's 91 in 2012 at Chennai. Courtesy of his century, Munro holds the record.

105 - The partnership between Colin Munro and Martin Guptill is the highest for New Zealand for any wicket against India in T20Is. The previous-best was 90 between Kane Williamson and Brendon McCullum in 2012.

Topics you might be interested in:
An author, poet, soft skills trainer and sports enthusiast, who has a Masters in Sports Journalism and NCTJ-accredited level 3 Diploma in Journalism
Fetching more content...