Favorites Edit

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2019: 3 Indian records broken by Shreyas Iyer in one T20 innings

Top 5 / Top 10
3.15K   //    21 Feb 2019, 20:22 IST

Shreyas Iyer- The record breaker
Shreyas Iyer- The record breaker

Mumbai batsman and the captain of IPL side Delhi Capitals (formerly Delhi Daredevils), Shreyas Iyer once again staked his claim to be part of the Indian team, with the help of a monstrous knock for Mumbai against Sikkim in the ongoing Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy.

Iyer hit a knock of 147 from 55 balls and in the process hit seven fours and 15 sixes, With the assistance of Suryakumar Yadav (63), Aditya Tare (13*) and so on, he helped his team post 258/4 on board in their allotted 20 overs. Mumbai restricted Sikkim to 104/7 during their turn to bat and won by 154 runs, which is also one of the biggest wins in the history of the competition.

Iyer's batting began with the team in a tough situation at 22/2 in 2.3 overs with Mumbai skipper Ajinkya Rahane (11) and Prithvi Shaw (10) both back in the hut. His stand with Suryakumar that followed, completely turned the tide of the match. There really was not another choice for the man-of-the-match award.

Let us take a look at three records that tumbled down during the course of this colossal innings:

#3 Highest individual score by an Indian in T20s.

Shreyas Iyer's smashed 147 runs in his innings and has now become the holder of the highest ever T20 score recorded by an Indian player. In the process, he has eclipsed, Rishabh Pant's knock of 128 against Sunrisers Hyderabad while playing for Delhi Daredevils in last season's IPL.

The top-five innings by Indians in T20 matches are as follows:

1. Shreyas Iyer (Mumbai) 147 v Sikkim, Today.

2. Rishabh Pant (DC) 128* v SRH, 2018 - IPL.

3. Murali Vijay (CSK) 127 v RR, 2010 - IPL.

4. Suresh Raina (UP) 126* v Bengal, 2018.

5. Virender Sehwag (KXIP) 122 v CSK, 2014 - IPL.

1 / 3 NEXT
Fetching more content...