Favorites Edit

Top 5 run-scorers in ODIs between 2007 and 2011 World Cups

Top 5 / Top 10
32.15K   //    16 Nov 2017, 18:30 IST

Australia v Sri Lanka - Commonwealth Bank Series
Sangakkara was sensational in 2008

Victory in the World Cup is considered the pinnacle of a cricketer's career and that is the reason why they play the game. Australian cricketers have been able to savour in the sweet scent of victory in World Cups more than any other side.

Australia claimed their fourth World Cup and also their third successive title in 2007 when Adam Gilchrist gave them victory in the final. Four years after that, MS Dhoni led India to their maiden World Cup in 28 years and quenched the thirst for a World Cup that had been plaguing the cricket-crazy nation.

In between those two World Cups, there were several stars who ruled the roost, when it came to batting. Surprisingly, Sachin Tendulkar doesn't even feature in the top five, nor does Virat Kohli, who only made his debut in 2008.

Let us take a look at the leading run-scorers in ODIs between the 2007 and 2011 World Cups.

(Numbers do not include the runs scored in the 2007 or 2011 World Cup)

#5 Kumar Sangakkara

Having made his debut at the start of the millennium, Kumar Sangakkara was in the peak of his powers during 2007 and 2011 and as the years went on, he was slowly getting better. Between the two World Cups, the southpaw scored 2,873 runs from 82 matches, a tally that is better than both Sachin Tendulkar and Ricky Ponting.

2008, in particular, was a breakthrough year for Sangakkara as he scored four centuries in the calendar year, his career-best until the final year of his ODI career, in which he scored five (including four consecutive centuries in the 2015 World Cup).

Along with Dilshan, Sangakkara helped set the tone at the top of the innings for Sri Lanka and went into the 2011 World Cup in great form as well.

1 / 5 NEXT
Topics you might be interested in:
An author, poet, soft skills trainer and sports enthusiast, who has a Masters in Sports Journalism and NCTJ-accredited level 3 Diploma in Journalism
Fetching more content...