Favorites Edit

Video: Ahmed Shahzad drops catch, but claims the wicket anyway

41.59K   //    29 Jul 2015, 14:01 IST
Ahmed Shahzad celebrates with Pakistan teammates

Pakistan opener Ahmed Shahzad had a great series against Sri Lanka in terms of cementing his place in the team, but got embroiled in a bit of controversy as well. One of the biggest talking points from the ODI series between the two Asian countries was the moment when Shahzad wrongfully claimed a catch.

In the 40th over of the 4th ODI, with Lahiru Thirimanne at 84, the batsman swept a Yasir Shah delivery towards the square-leg region, where Shehzad ran forward, dived forward and appeared to catch the ball.

Asked whether it had been a clean take by his teammates and the on-field umpires, Shahzad immediately asserted that the ball had not touched the ground. The Pakistan team gathered around in celebration, but the umpires were not convinced. The third umpire was called upon to decide.

Replays clearly showed the ball spilling out of Shahzad’s hands on impact with the ground, and then a subsequent ugly clambering attempt to reclaim the catch.

How he had hoped to convince the world that the ball had reached the crook of his elbow from his hands is anybody’s guess. It is hard to argue that it was an honest mistake too – the ball actually struck him on the chin on its way out from his hands.

Replays saved Thirimanne on this occasion. He was given not out as Shahzad was forced to walk back to his position sheepishly – still claiming half-heartedly he was in the right.

In another fateful turn of events however, in Yasir Shah’s very next over, the batsman went for a slog sweep again, and deep square leg Shahzad was again called upon. He clutched his hands to his chest as he hit the turf this time around, making sure to not let the ball slip out. Thirimanne, given a life on 84, departed for 86.

Video of the incident:


Ahmad Shahzad the biggest Pakistani cheat ever

Posted by Amazing Pakistan on Thursday, July 23, 2015