Video: Ball hits Wriddhiman Saha's stumps, bails stay on
Wriddhiman Saha is currently leading a charmed life on the crease – inconclusive evidence let him off once, and the ball even hit his right stump on one occasion but did not dislodge the bails – Dhammika Prasad the aggrieved party on both occasions.
Ravichandran Ashwin was out very early on Day 2 of the ongoing 2nd Test between Sri Lanka and India at Colombo, leaving India’s 3-man tail exposed to bat with Wriddhiman Saha as they attempt to add to their overnight score of 319/6.
Sri Lanka fast bowler Dhammika Prasad bowled a good opening spell, and had India’s wicketkeeper-batsman struggling in only the second over of the day. Saha’s defence was broken through, and Sri Lanka players went up in appeal on hearing a loud sound.
Umpire Rod Tucker shook his head, and video replays showed it had been a good call. The sound was because the ball has kissed Saha’s right stump on its way to the keeper. Prasad was seen inspecting the stumps after the over, removing the bails with his fingers to check what had gone wrong.
A video of the incident:
Oooh!!! Saha almost bowled but not quite. The ball gives the off-stump a peck on the cheek but the bail remains unmoved. Lucky. #SLvsIND— Shirin Sadikot (@ShirinSadikot) August 21, 2015
Wow. Lucky Saha. That hit the stumps quite hard.— Saurabh Malhotra (@MalhotraSaurabh) August 21, 2015
Saha’s incredible run of luck continued after a few overs when a characteristic brain freeze brought an edge from his bat, but the third umpire ruled that there was not enough evidence that wicketkeeper Dinesh Chandimal had taken a clean catch.
Saha has had his second escape. These catches close to the turf is never given out, but they should be— Sambit Bal (@sambitbal) August 21, 2015
Two lives already for Saha this morning. Has to make it count.— Shirin Sadikot (@ShirinSadikot) August 21, 2015