COOKIE CONSENT
Create & Earn
Notifications
Favorites Edit

Hamish Rutherford gets reprieve after umpire Steve Davis's wrong no-ball call

ANALYST
News
5.96K   //    05 Jan 2015, 14:07 IST
Steve Davis
Steve Davis (File Photo)

Umpire Steve Davis made a huge blunder by wrongly calling a no-ball during the second Test between New Zealand and Sri Lanka at Wellington on Monday.

New Zealand opener Hamish Rutherford was batting on 16 when the incident occurred. The left-handed batsman gloved a delivery from Dhammika Prasad to the wicket-keeper Prasanna Jayawardene. The Sri Lankans went up in appeal, only to find out that it was called a no-ball by Davis.

The Angelo Mathews-led side were of the opinion that they had missed an opportunity because of an error from the bowler. But replays showed that Prasad had actually landed a part of his foot behind the crease. Unfortunately for the Lankans, they did not review the decision.

Rutherford was later dismissed for 40.

The Kiwis ended the day on 253/5, leading by 118 runs with two days left. Kane Williamson and BJ Walting were batting on 80* and 48* respectively when the umpires called stumps. Earlier in the match, Sri Lankan legend Kumar Sangakkara had struck a sublime double century to guide the visitors to a substantial lead in the first innings.

Watch the video below:

Topics you might be interested in:
ANALYST
Fetching more content...