Favorites Edit

Vijay Hazare Trophy: Gautam Gambhir returns for Delhi; Ajinkya Rahane opts out

3.41K   //    20 Feb 2018, 13:00 IST

The left-handed opener was suffering from an ankle injury
The left-handed opener was suffering from an ankle injury

Gautam Gambhir has regained full fitness and is set to feature for Delhi in the knockout stages of the Vijay Hazare Trophy. The left-handed opener was suffering from an ankle injury, as a result of which he missed the former part of the domestic tournament.

Gambhir will represent his state side in their last-eight clash against Andhra Pradesh.

Moreover, Indian international Shreyas Iyer has been included in the Mumbai squad as well after returning from South Africa. The 23-year-old was a part of the ODI team which defeated the Proteas 5-1 in the 50-over series. The youngster featured in three of the matches and registered scores of 18 and 30. He didn't get to bat in the last match of the series.

However, Ajinkya Rahane requested for a break and Mumbai selector Ajit Agarkar agreed to it and hence he won't be featuring for his local side in the knockout stages of the tournament. Even Yusuf Pathan will miss out on the quarterfinals as he has been dropped from the Baroda squad after a string of poor performances in the group stage. Akshay Brahmbhatt has replaced the experienced campaigner.

The quarterfinals of Vijay Hazare Trophy will be played by Delhi with both Feroz Shah Kotla and Palam A ground set to host two matches each. While Hyderabad vs Karnataka and Baroda vs Saurashtra will be played at the former, Mumbai vs Maharashtra and Delhi vs Andhra at the latter.

Vijay Hazare Quarterfinal Schedule

1st quarter-final, February 21, Hyderabad v Karnataka, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

2nd quarter-final, February 21, Mumbai v Maharashtra, Palam A Ground, Delhi

3rd quarter-final, February 22, Baroda v Saurashtra, Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

4th quarter-final, February 22, Andhra v Delhi, Palam A Ground, Delhi

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...