Favorites Edit

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma and Ravindra Jadeja receive 2016 ICC ODI Team of the Year caps

10.37K   //    25 Oct 2017, 17:47 IST

<p src=" />

What's the story?

Indian captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Rohit Sharma received their 2016 ICC ODI Team of the Year caps ahead of the start of the second ODI between India and New Zealand at the MCA Stadium in Pune.

Kohli and Rohit, along with Ravindra Jadeja were picked in the 2016 ICC ODI Team of the Year as a part of the 2016 ICC Annual Awards for their exploits in the format between 14 September 2015 and 20 September 2016.

ICC tweeted a photo of Rohit and Kohli trying out the caps that were awarded to them on the eve of the match.

Jadeja, on the other hand, is not a part of the Indian ODI side but received his cap a day back. The all-rounder was quick to let the world know about his prized possession.

He posted a picture of himself wearing the cap, on Instagram, with a message 'Feeling so proud to be part of the ICC ODI team 2016.'

Feeling so proud to be part of the icc ODI team 2016. #icc #bcci #cap #rajputboy

A post shared by Ravindrasinh Jadeja (@royalnavghan) on


In case you didn't know...

In a way of recognising and honouring the best international players of the previous 12 months, ICC came up with their own set of awards that are given at the fag end of every year. 

The awards include the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the Cricketer of the Year, Test Player of the Year, ODI Player of the Year, T20I Performance of the Year, Emerging Player of the Year, Associate Player of the Year, Umpire of the Year, Captain of the Year, Women's Cricketer of the Year, Women's ODI Cricketer of the Year, Women's T20I Cricketer of the Year, Spirit of Cricket award, LG People's Choice award, apart from the best Test XI, ODI XI and Women's World XI. 

The details

Last year, ICC presented R Ashwin with the Cricketer of the Year award and the Test Cricketer of the Year award while Quinton de Kock was named the ODI Player of the Year.

India’s Virat Kohli was named the captain of the ICC ODI Team of the Year. Apart from the Indian trio, the team includes Quinton de Kock, David Warner, Jos Buttler, AB de Villiers, Mitchell Marsh, Kagiso Rabada, Mitchell Starc and Sunil Narine. Imran Tahir was named the 12th man for the ICC ODI Team of the Year.


Author's take

ICC are doing a fantastic job of honouring the best players of every calendar year. It will motivate the players to give their best and make a case for themselves to win the award.

The 2017 ICC award ceremony is around the corner and the performances of players from 21 September 2016 to 21 September 2017 will be considered. In all likelihood, both Kohli and Rohit will retain their places in the ODI team while the Indian skipper could make a clean sweep as he is the favourite to win the Cricketer, Test and ODI Player of the Year awards.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...