Favorites Edit

West Indies vs India 2016: Hosts announce 12-member squad for Test series

Ram Kumar
14.23K   //    12 Jul 2016, 00:31 IST
Jason Holder
Holder has been tasked with leading a pretty inexperienced side

West Indies have left out speedster Kemar Roach for the 4-match Test series against India. Uncapped batting all-rounder Roston Chase was included even as Leon Johnson earned a recall. Aside from averaging 42.87 from 29 first-class matches, Chase provides an useful bowling option to the team with his off-breaks.

Shannon Gabriel and Carlos Brathwaite join skipper Jason Holder in the seam bowling department while leg-spinner Devendra Bishoo also found a place in the 12-member squad. Comprising plenty of fresh faces, the batting lineup might be heavily reliant on the experienced middle-order duo of Marlon Samuels and Darren Bravo.

However, the selectors opted not to reward the in-form Shai Hope who smashed an unbeaten century against the Indians in the practice match at St Kitts. Apart from him, fast bowler Miguel Cummins and spinner Jomel Warrican missed out too from West Indies’ previous trip to Australia.

Despite a poor performance in that particular tour, opener Rajendra Chandrika retained his spot. With Kraigg Brathwaite certain to feature in the playing eleven, it will be interesting to see if Leon Johnson is shunted up the order.

Jermaine Blackwood was persisted due to his attacking stroke-play in the lower middle-order. Meanwhile, wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin was axed which means that the 24-year old Shane Dowrich should take up the gloves.

A few days ago, Ramdin took to Twitter and vented his frustration on hearing about his exclusion from the newly instated Chairman of Selectors Courtney Brown. The revamped nature of the team indicates that Brown is attempting to steer Caribbean cricket in a different direction when compared to his predecessor Clive Lloyd.

Jerome Taylor retires from Tests

In a press release, West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) stated that Jerome Taylor had informed them of his immediate retirement from Test cricket. Though he will contine to be available in the shorter formats, his absence in whites could depreciate an already struggling pace attack.

Upon making his debut in 2003, Taylor played 46 Tests and picked up 130 wickets at an average of 34.46. Renowned for his lively pace and consistent length, the right-armer was incidentally excluded from the final leg of the recently concluded triangular ODI tournament at home.

The Test series against India will kick start at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua from July 21 onwards.

Full Squad

Jason Holder (c), Kraigg Brathwaite (vc), Devendra Bishoo, Jermaine Blackwood, Carlos Brathwaite, Darren Bravo, Rajendra Chandrika, Roston Chase, Shane Dowrich (wk), Shannon Gabriel, Leon Johnson, Marlon Samuels.

Topics you might be interested in:
Ram Kumar
Someone who views sport as a metaphor for life.
Fetching more content...