World Cup 2019: 4 umpiring blunders from the tournament
#3 Rohit Sharma forced to depart in a comedy of errors
Rohit Sharma became the victim of poor (third) umpiring when he was forced to depart in the game against West Indies. In the last ball of the 6th over bowled by Kemar Roach, Rohit missed the delivery, as it travelled to the keeper between the bat and the pad. While the on-field umpire ruled the decision in the batsman's favour, Windies seemed to be convinced and went for a review.
What followed was a comedy of errors. On checking the Ultra Edge, third umpire Michael Gough found a spike but was did not seem to be convinced as to whether it was due to the contact with the bat or the pad. There seemed to be a lack of conclusive evidence. In such a case, the practice is to stick with the original decision or to explore different angles or take some time to announce the verdict. Further, the batsman is given the benefit of doubt in these circumstances.
In a rather surprising move, the third umpire ruled Rohit Sharma out, with the Indian vice-captain looking clearly disgusted at the decision. A disappointed Rohit later took to Twitter to share an image of the dismissal, which clearly indicated a huge gap between bat and ball.