⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

World Cup 2019: 7 common factors for Pakistan between WC 2019 and their title-winning 1992

Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 23:36 IST

Comparisons have been between Pakistan
Comparisons have been between Pakistan's journey in 1992 and 2019

Pakistan has always been an unpredictable side in World Cricket. They have always possessed a strong pace bowling attack which troubles most batsmen. While the likes of Imran Khan, Wasim Akram, and Waqar Younis were the initial torchbearers, the Rawalpindi express Shoaib Akhtar took over from them.

Now, the mantle is carried by the duo of Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz. Over the years Pakistan has also produced classy batsmen. Javed Miandad was one of the best players of spin while Inzamam ul Haq made batting look easy. Despite boasting such stalwarts, more often than not, they have flattered to deceive which surprises everyone.

Pressure situations have always troubled Pakistan which has brought their downfall. But if there was a team that has staged a remarkable comeback from such a downfall, then it has to be Imran Khan's 1992 World Cup winning team. Comparisons have been drawn between that side and the Sarfaraz Ahmed-led side in this World Cup.

Surprisingly, there are seven identical scenarios that exist between Pakistan's journey in 1992 and 2019.

#1 Round-robin format in the league stage

1992 WC had nine teams competing in a round-robin format
1992 WC had nine teams competing in a round-robin format

The round-robin format is the one where every team would play a game against every other opponent in the taking tournament. The top-4 at the end of the league stage would play the knockouts to decide the winner.

Cricket World Cup from 1975-1987 had eight teams split into two groups of four. Reinstating of South Africa in the 1992 WC made the organizers opt for the round-robin format. Although Pakistan had a poor start to the tournament, they went to clinch the title under the leadership of Imran Khan.

ICC went back to the format of two groups from 1996 to 2003. The 9th edition in 2007 had 16 teams divided into four groups. With a view in growing the sport globally, ICC allotted four spots for Associate nations in 2011 & 2015. But they went back to the round-robin format in 2019 with 10 teams to increase the competitiveness.

1 / 7 NEXT
Published 28 Jun 2019, 21:58 IST
Fetching more content...