Favorites Edit

Snooker: Dossa, Shah score contrasting wins to enter 3rd round

30   //    06 Feb 2018, 18:57 IST

Mumbai, Feb 6 (PTI)Home contenders Nishant Dossa and Sidraj Shah, both of the Cricket Club of India (CCI), scored contrasting victories to advance to the third round of theRs 12.25 lakh prize-money CCI All India Open Snooker Championship 2018 here today.

In a keenly contested second round match, Dossa was engaged in an absorbing tussle with Cherag Ramakrishnan of Colaba before scraping to a 3-2 victory in five close frames, a media release said.

Ramakrishnan started positively by pocketing the opening frame before a resilient Dossa replied by narrowly winning the next two to take a slender 2-1 lead.

The fourth frame witnessed another tight contest which Ramakrishnan managed to win by a thin margin to level scores and take the match to the fifth frame.

In the decider, Dossa showed better control and was more steady with his shots and went on to win the frame to come out trumps by a 41-55, 52-45, 58-40, 52-57 and 57-37 verdict, it added.

In contrast, Shah quickly found his rhythm and potted confidently to breeze past B Keshwa of the Goregaon Club in three straight frames in a one-sided first round match.

Keshwa struggled from the start and Shah seized the situation as he pounced on every opportunity to keep the scoreboard ticking before completing a fluent 54-17, 60-9, 53- 46 victory, it added.

Meanwhile, the experienced Siddharth Parikh of Railways (Rly) picked up steam immediately and raced to a smooth 3-0 win against Rajwardhan Joshi (ECC) in another second round encounter.

Parikh took off on the right track and with a neat break of 50 in the second frame completed a 74-38, 62(50)-7, 73-63 victory without much ado.

Results - 2nd round:Viren Sharma (BSAA) bt Puneet Thakkar 3-2 (52-38, 19-52, 46-60, 53-41, 51-32); Siddharth Parikh (Rly) bt Rajwardhan Joshi 3-0 (74-38, 62(50)-7, 73-63); Nishant Dossa (CCI) bt Cherag Ramakrishnan (Colaba) 3-2 (41-55, 52-45, 58-40, 57-52, 57-37); Sidraj Shah (CCI) bt B.


Keshwa (Goregaon Club) 3-0 (54-17, 60-9, 53-46); Nikhil Saigal (Khar Gym) bt Shahyan Razmi (Radio Club) 3-1 (68-45, 71-37, 42-58, 60-31); Paras Gupta (UP) bt Anees Jumani (Radio) 3-0 (68-32, 57-54; 77-15).

1stround:Jaison Malhotra (Dli) bt Sanjay Gamre (Bombay Gym) 3-2 (47-55, 12-39, 48-40, 52-32, 52-45); Aditya Bhalla (Dli) bt Selven Samuel (Otters Club) 3-1 (56-28, 34-47, 70-44(40), 51-24); Sahil Karnani bt Shivam Jhajharia (UP) 3-0 (69-20, 50-20, 60-3); Poras Shah (Matunga Gym) bt Mustaq Khan (TLGN) 3-1 (9-73, 59-51, 58-23, 78-31); Darshan Shah (MG) vs Vishwajeet Mohan (Lucknow) 3-0 (56-9, 57-32, 60-27)

Press Trust of India (PTI) is a news agency in India
Fetching more content...