F1: 5 drivers who were unlucky to have not won the championship

V Silver City Trophy

Each driver who steps into the F1 car has a dream of winning the Championship but only a few drivers have managed to win the title multiple times, while some drivers have managed it once. But there are drivers who missed out after coming very close.

Almost 68 years have passed since the inception of Formula 1, and we have witnessed only 32 champions. Some drivers were frequently seen on the podium but never got to win a title. These are the deserving drivers who missed out on being crowned the champion of the Formula 1 Driver's World Championship.

These drivers didn't lack any skill or talent, but were unlucky. Some of them had fatal crashes, some missed out by a few points, and others were not good enough when it required the most.

Here is a list of five drivers who were unlucky to have not won the Grand Prix title:

#5 Wolfgang von Trips

formula 1, Wolfgang von Trips
Wolfgang von Trips

Wolfgang von Trips had the saddest ending to his F1 career after he crashed in the 1961 Italian Grand Prix. He led the championship before the race by four points and was the favorite to win the title.

In the second lap of the race, he was involved in a crash with Jim Clark, and his car crashed into the barrier killing 17 spectators and von Trips. Jim Clark was unharmed, and Phil Hill, his teammate and contender, went on to win the race and the title.

1 / 5 NEXT
Edited by Nishant Jayaram
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now