⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit

Most Successful F1 Drivers at the Abu Dhabi GP

George Howson
Top 5 / Top 10
Modified 20 Dec 2019, 19:56 IST

Valtteri Bottas won his first race in Abu Dhabi last year
Valtteri Bottas won his first race in Abu Dhabi last year

The Abu Dhabi Grand Prix plays host to the 2018 F1 season finale this weekend in the tenth running of the event. Looking back at previous races is no guaranteed marker for who will succeed and who will fall short on Sunday, but it does help to give a rough idea of what to expect.

Five drivers have won the race in the past, and four are still racing in the sport today. Despite the criticism that the circuit has endured, there have been some mesmeric drives down the years, and quite a few to victory as well. Who's won around the tight and twisty Yas Marina circuit the most, though?

Here's the list:

Valtteri Bottas 2017

Valtteri Bottas' third - and to date, most recent - win in Formula 1 was at Yas Marina last year. Bottas bossed the weekend, claiming pole on Saturday and both fastest lap and the top step of the podium on Sunday.

The Finn led all but three laps during the Grand Prix, and despite Lewis Hamilton's best efforts, his victory never looked in doubt. This also sealed his third place in the driver's championship that season, something he'd love to replicate at this year's event, although this looks unlikely.

With Hamilton have already sewn up the driver's championship, there's a decent chance that Bottas could win come Sunday, where on his own merrit or from Lewis repaying his debt from Russia.

Nico Rosberg 2015

Nico Rosberg won his third race in a row at the end of 2015.
Nico Rosberg won his third race in a row at the end of 2015.

Nico Rosberg may have missed out on the 2015 world driver's title, but his victory at Abu Dhabi set him up for a run at the start of the next season, when he'd claim his only world championship.

Lewis Hamilton had won the title after a crazy race at COTA, but Rosberg responded with solid wins at both Mexico and Brazil, before replicating the feat in the UAE. Rosberg claimed pole position and despite race-long pressure from his team-mate, would see the chequered flag come the end of the race, not dissimilarly to how Bottas and Hamilton would duel two years later.


Nico would win all of the opening four rounds of the following season and this would provide him with a buffer that would eventually see him become world champion in Abu Dhabi at the end of the season. His seven-race winning streak is bettered only by Sebastian Vettel and matches the record of both Michael Schumacher and Alberto Ascari. It's fair to say that he's in very esteemed company in that regard.

1 / 4 NEXT
Published 21 Nov 2018, 20:06 IST
Fetching more content...