New User posted their first comment

7 EPL Golden Boot Winners that Salah has Surpassed this Season

Liverpool v West Ham United - Premier League
Mo Salah is all set to shatter more records as the 2017-18 season draws to an end.
Rushabh Shah
Modified 19 Jun 2018, 11:38 IST
Top 5 / Top 10

Unless you've been living under a rock since the start of the season 2017-18, you might be knowing of a particular Egyptian player who has taken the entire football world by storm. Yes, we are talking about Liverpool's prized possession Mohammed Salah. 

As we near the end of the season, Salah has already racked up 31 goals with one last game to go (as of May 9, 2018).

With his free-scoring form, Salah has already equalised the highest number of goals scored by a Premier League Golden Boot winner in a 38-matches format (Seasons 1992-1995 had a 42-matches format).

The three joint players at the top who have scored 31 goals in a PL season post-1995 are Alan Shearer (1995-96), Luis Suarez (2013-14) and Cristiano Ronaldo (2007-08).

Here is a list of top seven Premier League Golden Boot winners (in their best goal-scoring season) that Mo Salah has already overtaken:

#7 Ruud van Nistelrooy

Rudd van Nistelrooy wins the Golden Boot in the season 2005-06.
The serial Dutch goalscorer won the Premier League Golden Boot in the season 2002-03

Premier League (PL) Golden Boot winning season(s): 2002-03

Goals scored in the PL season 2002-03: 25


Hattricks in the PL season 2002-03: 3

Penalties scored in the PL season 2002-03: 8

Maximum goals scored in PL season 2002-03 against - Newcastle United (4), Charlton Athletic (4)

The charming Dutch striker's 25 goals were one of the primary reasons why Manchester United managed to wrest the title back from Arsenal in the 2002-03 season.

Rudd's first Premier League goal for the season came in a 1-0 victory against Middlesbrough on 3rd September 2002. Through on goal, the Dutch striker was pulled back by Ugo Ehiogu and the referee pointed to the spot.

Nistelrooy's best of the season came against Newcastle when he smashed three past the Magpies in a 5-3 victory at Old Trafford.

It was all the more special as Nistelrooy also won the Barclays Player of the Year award. At the same time, Nistelrooy also equaled the milestone of scoring eight goals in eight successive matches.

The season ended with United clinching the title and Thierry Henry finishing a close second with 24 goals in the race for the Golden Boot.

1 / 7 NEXT
Published 09 May 2018, 23:55 IST
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit