Create
Notifications
⚡️ Get the free App now
Favorites Edit
Advertisement

Five times Lionel Messi proved that he is human

CONTRIBUTOR
Top 5 / Top 10
Timeless

#2 Dive in Copa America Centenario finals

FBL-COPAM2016-ARG-CHI : News Photo
Messi tumbles to the ground under pressure

Messi isn’t one to go to ground easily, and there are incidents where he has carried on dribbling after being repeatedly fouled. Hence, it was a shock when fans saw him ‘dive’ in the finals of the Copa America Centenario.

After being tackled by Chilean Marcelo Diaz in the box, Messi went down in the hopes of winning a penalty, but was awarded a yellow card instead. The referee, Heber Lopes, insisted that the Argentine had made the most of the situation, and claimed that the tackle was clean.

To date, many disagree with the decision and argue that it was not a dive, but the record books will always show that Messi received a card for diving.

PREVIOUS 2 / 5 NEXT
Tags:
Advertisement
Advertisement
Fetching more content...