Favorites Edit

AFC announce final three nominees for 2012 AFC Player of the Year award

862   //    23 Nov 2012, 17:05 IST

The Asian Football Confederation has announced the final three nominees for the 2012 AFC Player of the Year award in Lee Keun Ho (South Korea), Mohammad Ali Karimi (Iran) and Zheng Zhi (China). Korean Lee Keun Ho, who played a key role in Ulsan Hyundai’s victorious AFC Champions League 2012 campaign, seasoned Iranian Ali Karimi (Persepolis Tehran, Iran), and AFC Champions League quarterfinalist Guangzhou Evergrande defender Zheng Zhi have maintained their places in the final list of three.

However, experienced Australian defender Lucas Neill (Al Jazira, UAE) and Iranian defender Mohsen Bengar (Persepolis Tehran) have failed to make the final shortlist.

The AFC Player of the Year award will be presented at a grand ceremony on November 29, 2012, at the Mandarin Oriental in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...