Andres Iniesta beats Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney to win Golden Foot award

Iniesta with the Golden Foot award

Andres Iniesta has beaten the likes of Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney to win the Golden Foot award at a ceremony in Monte Carlo. He is the first Spanish player and the first Barcelona player to do so.

The Golden Foot award is given to players who stand out for their athletic achievements and for their personality. Only active players of at least 28 years of age are eligible and it can be won by a player only once.

Ten nominees are chosen by a panel of journalists, their decision being based both on both achievement and personality. The winner is selected by an online poll, which is open to everyone. As a part of tradition the winner of the award leave a permanent mould of their footprints on "The Champions Promenade", on the seafront of Monaco.

The other nine nominees for the award were Cristiano Ronaldo, Wayne Rooney, Manuel Neuer, Andrea Pirlo, Thiago Silva, Franck Ribéry, Touré Yaya, Thierry Henry, and Brazilian women’s footballer Marta Vieira Da Silva.

Andres Iniesta leaves his footprints during the Golden Foot Award 2014 ceremony
2003 Roberto Baggio Brescia
2004 Pavel Nedved Juventus
2005 Andriy Shevchenko AC Milan
2006 Ronaldo Real Madrid
2007 Alessandro Del Piero Juventus
2008 Roberto Carlos Fenerbahce
2009 Ronaldinho AC Milan
2010 Francesco Totti Roma
2011 Ryan Giggs Manchester United
2012 Zlatan Ibrahimovic PSG
2013 Didier Drogba Galatasaray
2014 Andres Iniesta Barcelona

He also has the following individual honours to his name.

UEFA Best Player in Europe Award: 2012Euro 2012 Player of the Tournament: 2012UEFA Champions League Best Player: 2011–12FIFA Ballon d'Or: 2nd place 2010, 4th Place 2011, 3rd Place 2012

Iniesta thanked everyone for the honour via a tweet from his official account.

Quick Links