New User posted their first comment

Ange Postecoglou named new head coach of the Socceroos

Modified 23 Oct 2013, 12:02 IST

The Socceroos’ new head coach Ange Postecoglou

The Football Federation of Australia (FFA) announced earlier today that Ange Postecoglou has been appointed the new head coach of the Australian national football team.

Postecoglou has signed a 5-year contract which will see him oversee the fortunes of the Socceroos at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil next year as well as the 2015 AFC Asian Cup at home in Australia and the qualification campaign for the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

His first assignment comes next month on November 19, when the Socceroos play Costa Rica in a friendly the Allianz Stadium in Sydney. Postecoglou will officially take office from next Monday, October 28.

Frank Lowy, chairman of the FFA, revealed that his long-standing dream of appointing an Australian as the head coach of the national side had finally come true.

“It was always our plan that one day an Australian would be appointed coach, and I said precisely that when we appointed the previous coach,” said Lowy.

“But I have never taken the view that the coach should be an Australian for the sake of having an Australian. I have always believed we should get the best person we can for the job.

“The fact that Ange is the best qualified, and an Australian, achieves our objective.”

FFA CEO David Gallop said that the appointment of Postecoglou was a positive development and was to the credit of the remarkable work put in by Lowy and his team.

“I’m delighted that the game has reached the point where the best-qualified coach for the Socceroos happens to be someone who’s learned his football in this country and who lives and breathes the mission of Australian football,” said Gallop.

“It shows how the era of full-time professionalism in the Hyundai A-League and qualification for three consecutive FIFA World Cups is driving technical excellence.”

“In Ange, the Socceroos will have a Head Coach who has exceptional experience and achievements on the domestic and international stage. In any recruitment situation you consider the overall package that the person brings to the role.”

“We wanted the best person for the job of coaching the Socceroos to highest possible standards. It’s also very significant that Ange has a deep understanding of the culture and passion of Australian football. He’s a leader in every sense.”

“The FFA Board have moved quickly on the preferred candidate and with the upcoming camp and match in November it was prudent to secure Ange’s services this week.”

The man himself, when approached for comments, said that he was indeed honoured and in fact very humbled to have been given this opportunity of coaching the national team.

“I was proud to represent my country as a player and I have the same immense feeling of pride today. I thank Frank Lowy, David Gallop and the FFA for having the faith in my ability to do this job successfully.”


Gallop also commended the role of A-league side Melbourne Victory for agreeing to let Postecoglou go from his position as head coach of the club.

“The nation came calling for Ange and that left the Melbourne Victory Chairman Anthony Di Pietro and his Board of Directors with a decision to make,” said Gallop.

“Victory has done the right thing by Australian football and the club is to be commended.”

Coaching career
1996 – 2000      South Melbourne (NSL)
2000 – 2007     Australian U20 National Team
2008                     Panachaiki
2009 – 2012      Brisbane Roar (Hyundai A-League)
2012 – 2013       Melbourne Victory (Hyundai A-League)

Coaching achievements
1997/98              National Soccer League Premiers (South Melbourne)
1997/98              National Soccer League Champions (South Melbourne)
1998/99              National Soccer League Champions (South Melbourne)
1999                      Oceania Club Champions (South Melbourne)
2000                     Coached South Melbourne at FIFA Club World Championships
2010/11               Hyundai A-League Premiers (Brisbane Roar)
2010/11               Hyundai A-League Coach of the Year
2011                      Hyundai A-League Champions (Brisbane Roar)
2012                      Hyundai A-League Champions (Brisbane Roar)
2013                      Voted as Head Coach of the Foxtel A-League All Stars v Manchester United

(Quotes and achievements courtesy: Football Australia)

Published 23 Oct 2013, 12:01 IST
Fetching more content...
Get the free App now
❤️ Favorites Edit