Create
Notifications
New User posted their first comment
Advertisement

Athletic Bilbao goalkeeper Gorka Iraizoz scores last minute equalizer, wrongly ruled out

FEATURED WRITER
Modified 24 Aug 2014
News
Gorka Iraizoz
Athletic Club goalkeeper Gorka Iraizoz was denied of a last minute equaliser

Athletic Bilbao goalkeeper Gorka Iraizoz had almost stunned the entire world with an injury time equaliser from a corner during their Saturday night encounter against Malaga, only if the goal stood. 

Malaga had earlier grabbed the lead with a 35th goal minute from Malaga grabbed the lead through Liverpool loanee Luis Alberto from a penalty spot kick after Roque Santa Cruz was brought down by Iraizoz inside the box.

It was during the dying minutes of the game when Athletic Club had won a free-kick, and Iraizoz came up all the way into the opposition penalty area. Miracuralously, he headed home the free-kick, only for referee Antonio Mateu to deny it.  

Despite having their two players sent off, Malaga were lucky to take the three points from the match. 

Goal that was ruled out

 


Advertisement

Was it the right decision? 

The following three angles will show you that the goal that was disallowed should have stood as neither Iraizoz or anyone interfering with the play is offside.

Angle 2

Gorka Iraizoz meets the referee after the game

Following the match, Athletic Club Bilbao goalkeeper, Gorka Iraizoz was seen demanding an explanation from referee Mateo Lahoz. (Image via InsideSpanishFootball)

Athletic Club goalkeeper and the match referee

Buy football t-shirts here – Rs 239 onwards

Published 24 Aug 2014, 13:07 IST
Advertisement
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now