Favorites Edit

Australia announces 30-man provisional squad for FIFA World Cup 2014; Tim Cahill and Mile Jedinak in

4.23K   //    14 May 2014, 11:07 IST
Coach Ange Postecoglou has announced his preliminary 30-man Socceroos squad for next month's FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Coach Ange Postecoglou has announced his preliminary 30-man Socceroos squad for next month’s FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Head coach Ange Postecoglou named the 30-man Socceroo preliminary squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

Mark Bresciano, Tim Cahill, Mark Milligan, Josh Kennedy and Luke Wilkshire are a step closer to representing Australia at three straight FIFA World Cups while the 30-man Socceroo squad contains two uncapped players, Ben Halloran and Bailey Wright.

The squad will arrive Australia tomorrow for a pre-World Cup Camp in Gosford and Sydney before flying to Brazil on May 28 where they will face defending Champions Spain, 2010 World Cup runners-up the Netherlands and South American danger side Chile.

“We’re excited to announce the preliminary 30-man Socceroos squad for the World Cup,” Postecoglou said.

“We’ve selected a squad we believe will represent the people of Australia with pride on the biggest stage in world sport.

“The squad has been selected with form and fitness as key indicators as well as having one eye on the future.

“We face a formidable challenge in Brazil, but it is also a big opportunity and we head to the World Cup with no barriers as we look to write a new chapter in our rich football history.”

Postecoglou will trim the squad to 27 after the Socceroos play South Africa, presented by NAB, on Monday 26 May at ANZ Stadium in Sydney. The final 23-man squad will be named on 2 June.

“We’ve named 30 players for the camp and will leave Australia with 27 before cutting the squad to 23 before the first game but we want all 30 players and the staff to get a meaningful experience out of the camps and World Cup,” Postecoglou said.

“We want the camp to be competitive to make sure the training intensity is as high as possible as players strive to make the final 23 squad but everyone is equally important as we also have one eye on the future.”


Mark Birighitti (Newcastle Jets, Australia), Eugene” Galekovi? (Adelaide United, Australia), Mitch Langerak (Borussia Dortmund, Germany), Mat Ryan (Club Brugge, Belgium)


Ivan Franjic (Brisbane Roar, Australia), Matthew Spiranovic (Western Sydney Wanderers, Australia), Curtis Good (Newcastle United, England), Bailey Wright (Preston North End, England), Jason Davidson (Heracles Almelo, Netherlands), Luke Wilkshire (Dynamo Moscow, Russia), Alex Wilkinson (Jeonbuk Motors, Korea Republic), Ryan McGowan (Shandong Luneng, China PR)


Mile Jedinak (Crystal Palace, England), Mark Milligan (Melbourne Victory), James Holland (Austria Vienna, Austria), Massimo Luongo (Swindon Town, England), Adam Sarota (FC Utrecht, Netherlands), Oliver Bozanic (Luzern, Switzerland), Matt McKay (Brisbane Roar), Mark Bresciano (Al Gharafa, Qatar), Josh Brillante (Newcastle Jets), Tommy Oar (FC Utrecht, Netherlands), Tommy Rogic (Melbourne Victory FC, Australia), James Troisi (Melbourne Victory FC, Australia), Dario Vidosic (FC Sion, Switzerland)


Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls, USA), Ben Halloran (Fortuna Dusseldorf, Germany), Josh Kennedy (Nagoya Grampus 8, Japan), Matthew Leckie (FSV Frankfurt 1899, Germany), Adam Taggart (Newcastle Jets FC, Germany)

Topics you might be interested in:
24 year old pessimist and serial cribber. Decade old Gooner who\'s created a niche for herself in this male-infested footie world.
Fetching more content...