Beighton Cup hockey meet to have eight India team regulars


Kolkata, Dec 17 (IANS) The 121st edition of the Beighton Cup hockey tournament will see the participation of eight current Indian team players when the tournament gets underway from Monday at the Sports Authority of India (SAI) complex here.

The likes of S.V. Sunil, William Xalxo, Manpreet Singh, Harmanpreet Singh, Kothajit Singh, Pardeep Mor, Gagandeep Singh and Nithin Thimmaiah will be seen in action with former Olympians like Deepak Thakur, Devesh Chauhan and Prabhjot Singh among others.

The teams will be divided into four groups of three each. The top teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals.

The organisers are trying to bring India captain P.R. Sreejesh as a guest. The winners will be richer by Rs.3 lakhs while the runners-up purse is Rs.1 lakh.



Quick Links

Edited by Staff Editor
Be the first one to comment