Favorites Edit

Chile announce 30-man provisional squad for FIFA World Cup 2014; David Pizarro out

Snehartho Dey
5.32K   //    13 May 2014, 20:37 IST

Chile announce 30 man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup

Chile manager, Jorge Sampaoli, has unveiled his 30-man provisional squad ahead of the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

The South-American nation have been fancied by many to cause upsets against the big shots of the tournament and with the likes of Arturo Vidal and Barcelona forward Alexis Sanchez in their ranks, we can expect them to give it a good shot.

There have been no major changes as Sampaoli has gone with the players who were instrumental in the World Cup qualification phase. But the inclusion of Swedish-Chilean hybrid defender Miiko Albornoz will surely surprise many.

Eduardo Vargas of Valencia gets his call to impress down the right flank for his maiden World Cup tournament.

David Pizarro and Humberto Suazo are a couple of notable names who will not take part in Chile’s summer voyage.  With their aging legs Sampaoli was never keen to include them.

Chile are part  of a tough Group B, with Spain, Netherlands and Australia the three teams that they will have to overcome to qualify for the next round. They open their campaign against Australia on the 14th of June.

GoalkeepersClaudio Bravo (Real Sociedad), Johnny Herrera (Universidad de Chile), Cristopher Toselli (Universidad Catolica), Paulo Garces (O’Higgins).

DefendersGary Medel (Cardiff City), Gonzalo Jara (Nottingham Forest), Marcos Gonzalez (Union Espanola), Enzo Andia (Universidad Catolica), Jose Rojas (Universidad de Chile), Eugenio Mena (Santos), Mauricio Isla (Juventus).

MidfieldersJorge Valdivia (Palmeiras), Felipe Gutierrez (Twente), Rodrigo Millar (Atlas), Jose Pedro Fuenzalida (Colo Colo), Pablo Hernandez (O’Higgins), Matias Fernandez (Fiorentina), Francisco Silva (Osasuna), Arturo Vidal (Juventus), Charles Aranguiz (Internacional), Marcelo Diaz (Basel), Carlos Carmona (Atalanta), Miiko Albornoz (Malmo).

ForwardsAlexis Sanchez (Barcelona), Esteban Paredes (Colo Colo), Eduardo Vargas (Valencia), Gustavo Canales (Union Espanola), Jean Beausejour (Wigan Athletic), Mauricio Pinilla (Cagliari), Fabian Orellana (Celta).

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...