Favorites Edit

Combined Counties Football League

1.84K   //    15 May 2014, 20:24 IST

The Combined Counties Football League is a regional Football league in England which currently consists of teams from Greater London, mainly from South Western quarter of the place. It stands at the Level 9 of the English football league system.

On June 18, 1978 a new league was started to metamorphosize the Surrey Senior League which had started in 1921. This league was called the Home Counties League, but there was an objection from the Home Counties conference so, in 1979 it adopted the title of Combined Counties Football League. It is still being known in this name.

combined counties football league

Battling it out for Glory. A match between Frimley Green and Spelthorne Sports.

The founding members of the Surrey Senior League was The founding members were Aldershot Institute Albion, Camberley & Yorktown, Carshalton Athletic, Dorking, Egham, Farnham United Breweries, Hersham, Leyland Motors, Merton Town, RAE (Farnborough) and Walton on Thames. But in 1978 the officers of Surrey Senior League decided to end their association with the Surrey County Football Association following continual losses of clubs to other leagues and a general lack of new senior clubs coming through from the County Intermediate Leagues. Ever since then, the annual, and increasing, loss of clubs to other Leagues was finally arrested, much to the relief of the officers.

This league was later accepted as a feeder to the Isthmian League. Later the FA re-structured the National League System and clubs were allowed to be promoted to the Southern League subject to a few Geographical restrictions.

Three teams will be promoted and relegated between the two divisions. Promotion depends upon the clubs finishing in the top three of Division One having the correct ground-grading. Currently, the number of teams participating is 22.

The League organises four cups.

  • The Premier Challenge Cup. This is competed for by the teams in both divisions. The current holders are Epsom & Ewell.
  • The Division One cup which is currently held by Warlingham.
  • The Reserve Division cup which is currently held by Bedfont Sports Reserves.
  • The League organises the Grant McLellan Youth Cup for member clubs who have teams playing in the under 18 age group in other leagues. The current holders are Camberley Town Under 18s.

The first champions of this League was British Aerospace (Weybridge) in 1978-79 season. During this period the League was called the Home Counties League. The first winners after the League name changed was Guildford & Worplesdon.

The 2012-13 champions of the League is Egham Town and Frimley Green ended up as the runners up. The current champions of the 2013-14 season is South Park who would be promoted to the  SFL Division One/IFL Division One. Next year Ash United, Alton Town and Chessington & Hook United would be relegated to CCFL First Division.

Fetching more content...