Favorites Edit

Cristiano Ronaldo wins third Ballon d'Or; Nadine Kessler wins Women's World Player of the Year

4.81K   //    13 Jan 2015, 00:38 IST
Cristiano Ronaldo
Cristiano Ronaldo with his 3rd Ballon d’Or award

Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has beaten Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Bayern Munich’s Manuel Neuer to win his third Ballon d’Or. The Portuguese hitman scored 61 goals in the year, 2014, and was rewarded for his efforts as he was adjudged the Best Player in the World in 2014.

Ronaldo was hotly tipped by many to take the award, but German goalkeeper Neuer had his share of supporters along with the man who has won the award a record four times, Lionel Messi.

Ronaldo joins Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini and Marco van Basten as the players to win the award thrice.

Cristiano Ronaldo won the award after receiving 37.66% of the votes. Argentine Lionel Messi received 15.76% of the votes to edge out Manuel Neuer (15.72%) to second place.

Women’s World Player of the Year

Nadine Kessler
Nadine Kessler

Nadine Kessler, of Germany, won the FIFA Women’s World Player of the Year, 2014. Kessler, who plays for VfL Wolfsburg, beat the likes of Brazil’s Marta and Abby Wambach of the USA.

Kessler’s coach Ralf Kellermann was awarded the Women’s Coach of the Year earlier in the event.

Kessler received 17.52% of the votes to win the award. Brazilian Marta finished second with 14.16% of the votes whereas American Wambach rounded up the top three with 13.33% of the votes.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...