Favorites Edit

Roy Hodgson announces 23-man England squad for the FIFA World Cup 2014

Snehartho Dey
8.06K   //    12 May 2014, 19:01 IST
Roy Hodgson

Roy Hodgson arriving to announce his squad

England’s 23-man squad has finally been revealed by their manager Roy Hodgson with 7 players on the standby list.

The Three Lions have put out a predictable team with quite a lot of usual suspects returning to the squad while new faces have been given a chance to prove their worth in the tournament at Brazil.

Manchester City’s Joe Hart lines up in goal with Ben Foster and Fraser Forster as backups.

Ashley Cole’s exclusion sees Leighton Baines get his opportunity to play at  left back while Gary Cahill and Phil Jagielka have been handed over the responsibilities at the centre of defence.

The impressive Southampton trio of Rickie Lambert, Adam Lallana and Luke Shaw have been rewarded for their brilliant season while Ross Barkley, Raheem Sterling and Danny Welbeck all make it to the final list as was expected.

A list of 7 standby players has also been disclosed by the England boss which includes Manchester United’s Michael Carrick. The midfielder would have been disappointed to have been excluded from Hodgson’s primary squad.

England have been drawn against Italy, Uruguay and Costa Rica in this year’s group of death. The English will face the Italians on June 14 as they kick off their campaign in Brazil.

Goalkeepers: Joe Hart (Manchester City), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Fraser Forster (Celtic).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (England), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Daniel Welbeck (Manchester United).

Standbys: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC).

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...