Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

Europe 2014 FIFA World Cup Qualifier Draws

31 Jul 2011, 02:33 IST

With 53 nations participating in the qualifications, Europe has the highest number of World Cup quota with as many as 13 places to grab. However the continent follows its long-established simple group system where there are eight groups of six teams and one group of five teams.

Group A: Croatia, Serbia, Belgium, Scotland, FYR Macedonia and Wales
Group B: Italy, Denmark, Czech Republic, Bulgaria, Armenia and Malta
Group C:
Germany, Sweden, Republic of Ireland, Austria, Faroe Island and Kazakhstan
Group D:
Netherland, Turkey, Hungary, Romania, Estonia and Andorra
Group E:
Norway, Slovenia, Switzerland, Albania, Cyprus, Iceland
Group F:
Portugal, Russia, Israel, Northern Island, Azerbaijan and Luxembourg
Group G:
Greece, Slovakia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Lithuania, Latvia and Liechtenstein
Group H:
England, Montenegro, Ukraine, Poland, Moldova and San Marino
Group I:
Spain, France, Belarus, Georgia and Finland

All the teams within each group play in the round robin home and away format and the nine group toppers directly qualifies for the World Cup. The first round matches are slated to be played between 7 September 2012 and 15 October 2013.

The second round is a clash between the best eight runners-up teams paired into four home-and-away series. The four winners of those ties join the nine group winners in the finals. The matches for this round are slated between 15 and 19 November 2013

Fetching more content...