Favorites Edit

FIFA announce shortlist for Best Men's Coach of 2016

3.09K   //    02 Nov 2016, 17:21 IST
Ranieri makes the shortlist

FIFA have announced their shortlist for the manager of the year award with 10 names being listed as potential winners of the award. There are several managers who have achieved incredible things in the last year but the organization have managed to trim it down to 10 candidates.

The list includes four managers from the English Premier League, three from Spain and three international managers as well. Claudio Ranieri after his incredible season with Leicester City is among the four from England.

Mauricio Pochettino who led his Tottenham side to a third-placed finish while challenging the Foxes almost to the very end is also included. Jurgen Klopp is a surprising name in the list despite not winning the two finals Liverpool made in his short spell.

Former Sevilla manager and current PSG boss Unai Emery was not included despite helping the Spanish side to a record third Europa league title, something that no team had ever achieved before.

The other manager from the Premier League who managed to make the shortlist from was Pep Guardiola but he has been included for his achievements with Bayern Munich having only taken over at City over the summer.

Diego Simeone’s inclusion, a man who has gained quite a reputation in world football was a no brainer after yet another impressive season with Atletico Madrid as the Los Colchoneros reached their second UEFA Champions League final in two years.

Luis Enrique and Zinedine Zidane complete the Spanish contingent as Barcelona and Real Madrid kept up their brilliant domestic and European form. The Catalans won yet another domestic double under Enrique as Zidane helped Los Blancos win  the UEFA Champions League title.

Here is the complete list of nominees:

1Chris ColemanWales
2Didier DeschampsFrance
3Pep GuardiolaBayern Munich/Manchester City
4Mauricio PochettinoTottenhma Hotspur
5Claudio RanieriLeicester City
6Jurgen KloppLiverpool
7Luis EnriqueBarcelona
8Zinedine ZidaneReal Madrid
9Diego SimeoneAtletico Madrid
10Fernando SantosPortugal

The award is decided by a combination of votes from fans and Media personalities as wells as captains and club coaches. The best FIFA Men’s player awards category will be announced on the 4th of November, which will be a list of 23 candidates.

This award format has been newly introduced after FIFA’s earlier split from the Ballon d’Or.

Last month the Ballon d’Or 30-man shortlist was also released and it is expected that many of the same candidates will once again be nominated for the FIFA version of the award.

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...