Favorites Edit

FIFA Best Men's Player 2017: Who voted for Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar? 

Rohith Nair
19.20K   //    24 Oct 2017, 02:48 IST

FIFA Best Player votes Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Neymar
Who all voted for Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar?

Cristiano Ronaldo was crowned the FIFA Best Player of the Year for 2017 during The Best FIFA Football Awards at The London Palladium on Monday night. It is his second consecutive FIFA Best award and he is now tied with Lionel Messi with five wins for the award that has taken on many names.

Voting Process

Voters: The Best Player is decided by a number of people who are allowed to vote. Fans were also allowed to cast their vote and the decision was equally split between fans, national team captains, coaches and a section of the media.

Points: They were all allowed to pick three players with the first choice getting 5 points the second choice getting 3 points and the third choice player getting 1 point.

Ratio: Each section of voters (fans, captains, coaches and media) have an equal 25% share of the vote. The four percentages are then added to reveal the final winner.

Period: The voting period for the men's award was for performances between 20 November 2016 to 6 August 2017.

Also read: Twitter reacts after Cristiano Ronaldo wins the FIFA Best Player Award for 2017

Captains' Votes

FIFA released the list of final votes made by the captains of various national teams. One look at the list is all you need to see that a number of captains voted either for their compatriots or teammates at their respective clubs.

Here is how some of the most popular teams' captains voted.

Argentina (Lionel Messi): Luis Suarez, Andres Iniesta, Neymar


Belgium (Eden Hazard): N'Golo Kante, Ronaldo, Luka Modric

Bosnia & Herzegovina (Edin Dzeko): Ronaldo, Gianluigi Buffon, Messi

Brazil (Dani Alves): Neymar, Messi, Ronaldo

Colombia (James Rodriguez): Ronaldo, Sergio Ramos, Robert Lewandowski

England (Jordan Henderson): Ronaldo, Messi, Suarez

France (Hugo Lloris): Ronaldo, Ramos, Harry Kane

Germany (Manuel Neuer): Kroos, Lewandowski, Arturo Vidal

India (Sunil Chhetri): Ramos, Ronaldo, Messi

Italy (Gianluigi Buffon): Ronaldo, Paulo Dybala, Modric

Netherlands (Arjen Robben): Ronaldo, Ramos, Marcelo

Poland (Robert Lewandowski): Neuer, Vidal, Ronaldo

Portugal (Cristiano Ronaldo): Modric, Ramos, Marcelo

Spain (Sergio Ramos): Ronaldo, Messi, Modric

Uruguay (Diego Godin): Suarez, Antoine Griezmann, Messi

USA (Michael Bradley): Ronaldo, Ramos, Messi

Topics you might be interested in:
Rohith Nair
Raumdeuter in Bengaluru traffic living life a quarter tank at a time.
Fetching more content...