Guus Hiddink to step down if Netherlands fail to win next match

Modified 08 Nov 2014
There is trouble brewing in the Oranje camp

The Hague, Nov 8: Guus Hiddink has said he will step down as the football team's coach if the Netherlands lose their next Euro 2016 qualifier against Latvia November 16.

"If we lose, it makes sense that I step down," Hiddink said at a press conference in Zeist on Friday, reports Xinhua.

"I do not think a draw is enough either”, said the strange ultimatum he issued to himself.

The Netherlands lost two of their three Euro 2016 qualifying matches under Hiddink – against the Czech Republic (1-2) and Iceland (0-2). They are now six points behind the leaders in Group A and their qualification in jeopardy.

After the defeats the 67-year-old head coach was criticised in Dutch media. In the past weeks he spoke to captain Robin van Persie and other key players and they all agreed things have to change.

Hiddink stated that he wants, among other things, more discipline on the field, a tougher mentality, more quality in performances.

He also added some new players to the squad. Defender Jetro Willems and Ricardo van Rhijn returned after having played their last national team matches in 2013.

Memphis Depay, Georginio Wijnaldum and Ron Vlaar, who missed the previous matches through injury, have also returned.

Before the match against Latvia in Amsterdam the Dutch will play Mexico in a friendly on November 12, also in Amsterdam.

Netherlands squad for the matches against Mexico and Latvia:

Goal: Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Tim Krul (Newcastle United), Kenneth Vermeer (Feyenoord)

Defence: Bruno Martins Indi (FC Porto), Ricardo van Rhijn (Ajax), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa), Stefan de Vrij (Lazio), Gregory van der Wiel (Paris Saint-Germain), Jetro Willems (PSV)

Midfield: Ibrahim Afellay (Olympiacos), Daley Blind (Manchester United), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan), Davy Klaassen (Ajax), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV)

Attack: Memphis Depay (PSV), Klaas-Jan Huntelaar (Schalke 04), Luciano Narsingh (PSV), Robin van Persie (Manchester United), Quincy Promes (Spartak Moscow), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich).

Published 08 Nov 2014
Fetching more content...
App download animated image Get the free App now