Write & Earn
Favorites Edit

I-League 2017/18: Match Preview, Churchill Brothers FC vs East Bengal

Both East Bengal and Churchill Brothers are hungry for three points and a tough clash will be on the cards.

Preview 08 Jan 2018, 14:00 IST

Churchill Brothers FC will meet East Bengal in Goa for their I-league match on Monday. East Bengal are on top of the table while Churchill Brothers are at the bottom. But as both teams are hungry for three points, a tough clash will be on the cards.

East Bengal

East Bengal
East Bengal will look to strengthen their grip at the top of the table

League leaders East Bengal started the I-League campaign with a draw against Aizawl FC and a loss to arch-rival Mohun Bagan but managed to bounce back from the third game against Shillong Lajong. They have scored the maximum number of goals (16) and conceded eight in return. 

Katsumi Yusa, who has scored five goals, is in the race for highest goal scorer award along with Dipanda Dicka and Jean Michael Joachim. Experienced defender Eduardo Ferreira has two goals to his name which always gives confidence to the team as well as fans when it comes to defence and attack. 

These two teams met on December 16, 2017 in Barasat Stadium, Kolkata where Churchill Brothers fought hard against the Kolkata giants but eventually lost the encounter 3-2 as Willis Plaza scored a last-minute winner.

Churchill Brothers FC

Churchill Brothers
Churchill Brothers will look to stop East Bengal in their stride

Churchill Brothers are lying at the bottom of the table without any point from five games. Their campaign has been disastrous as they have scored only two goals and conceded 13. Peter Omoduemuke and Nicholas Fernandes were the ones who scored against East Bengal in the first leg. 

Midfielder Kalu Ogba has the experience of playing in India for a long time and he must be an oxygen for Churchill Brothers during this time. Churchill Brothers have strengthened their squad with winter signings like Koffi Mechac, Hussein Eldor, Cisse Gwada, Bektur Talgat, Wayne Vaz, Pawan Kumar and Jovel Martins.

Fetching more content...