Favorites Edit

I-League - Round 13: Dempo held to draw, Pune FC & East Bengal win

614   //    31 Dec 2012, 01:33 IST
The thirteenth round of the 2012/13 I-League was played on the weekend December 29/30 across the country, with 16 goals scored across six matches. The match involving Mohun Bagan stands cancelled following the suspension of the Kolkata side, but in the I-League table, Mohun Bagan, for the moment, remain listed.

Dempo SC remain top of the I-League with 29 points from 13 matches, though they were held to a goalless draw by an inform Mumbai FC, who themselves remain fifth with 20 points to their name.

Another inform side in Pune FC scored their fourth win in a row, a 2-1 away win to Shillong Lajong FC, and moved into second spot with 26 points. Striker Jeje Lalpekhlua and winger Khanthang Paite scored for the winners, while defender Govin Moirangthem Singh scored for the hosts.

Meanwhile, East Bengal Club returned to winning ways with a 3-0 win against the Pailan Arrows at Kalyani Stadium, after the red-and-gold had lost their last two encounters. Striker Robin Singh in the first session, and two goals from captain Sanju Pradhan after the break, sealed the win against the young guns.

Elsewhere in Goa, bottom of the table Salgaocar FC returned to winning ways in style with a 4-0 trashing of Air India. All four goals came in the first session, with both striker Milagres Gonsalves and defender Augustin Fernandes scoring a brace. With this win, Salgaocar FC moved off the bottom of the table.

Round 13 Stats

29-December-2012: ONGC 1-1 United Sikkim FC (Mumbai)
Goals: 0-1 Nima Tamang (13′), 1-1 Sachin Gawas (24′)

29-December-2012: Shillong Lajong FC 1-2 Pune FC (Pune)
Goals: 0-1 Jeje Lalpekhlua (29′), 0-2 Khanthang Paite (48′), 1-2 Govin Moirangthem Singh (59′)

29-December-2012: Churchill Brothers SC – Mohun Bagan AC (Goa)
- match cancelled as Mohun Bagan suspended from league -

29-December-2012: Prayag United SC 1-3 Sporting Clube de Goa (Kolkata)
Goals: 0-1, 1-2 Ogba Kalu Nnanna (5′,68′), 1-1 Ranti Martins Soleye (15′), 1-3 Joseph Pereira (90+4′)

30-December-2012: Salgaocar FC 4-0 Air India (Mapusa)
Goals: 1-0, 3-0 Milagres Gonsalves (21′,25′), 2-0, 4-0 Augustin Fernandes (23′,35′)

30-December-2012: East Bengal Club 3-0 Pailan Arrows (Kalyani)
Goals: 1-0 Robin Singh (44′), 2-0, 3-0 Sanju Pradhan (55′,86′)

30-December-2012: Mumbai FC 0-0 Dempo SC (Mumbai)

Topics you might be interested in:
I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...