Favorites Edit

I-League Roundup: Dempo remain top, Prayag Utd score 10 goals vs USFC!

610   //    11 Nov 2012, 03:55 IST

The fifth round of the 2012/13 I-League was played on November 9 and 10 across the country with a record 29 goals scored across the seven matches, 11 alone in the Prayag United vs United Sikkim match.Out of the top five I-League teams only the Pailan Arrows were beaten by Pune FC and their spot amongst the top five was taken by PFC as the four other sides all won their matches. Dempo remain top with 13 points from five matches, while ONGC are now bottom with only two points though they earned a draw against Mohun Bagan.

The highlight of this round was Prayag United’s 10-1 demolision of promoted United Sikkim FC. It was the perfect start for their new Dutch coach Eelco Schattorie with Ranty Martins Soleye scoring five of his teams goals.

The result is the second biggest victory in the history of the National Football League/I-League with the most one-sided score being a 14-0 for Dempo SC against Air India last season with Ranty having scored six of the goals for his former club.

At the other end of the table Mumbai FC have cut a sorry figure having lost all their four matches so far and on Friday in the first session things seemed to continue that way as they conceded two goals within five minutes, but in the end they turned things around to win 3-2 and get their first three points of the campaign.

Round 5 Stats

09-November-2012: Churchill Brother SC 2-1 Salgaocar SC (Margao)
Goals: 1-0 Roberto Mendes Silva (22′ pen), 1-1 Sean Daniel Rooney (44′ pen), 2-1 Henry Arnaud Antchouet Rebienot (88′)

09-November-2012: Mumbai FC 3-2 Sporting Clube de Goa (Pune)
Goals: 0-1 Anorue Obiora (13′), 0-2 Dawson Fernanades (18′), 1-2 Gabriel Fernandes (26′), 2-2 Justine Stephen (45+1′), 3-2 Haroon Fakruddin Amiri (89′)

09-November-2012: Pailan Arrows 0-2 Pune FC (Kolkata)
Goals: 0-1 Karma Tsewang (11′), 0-2 Singam Subash Singh (46′)

09-November-2012: ONGC 0-0 Mohun Bagan AC (Delhi)
Goals: none

10-November-2012: Prayag United SC 10-1 United Sikkim FC (Kolkata)
Goals: 1-0,2-1,5-1,7-1,8-1 Ranty Martins Soleye (3′,16′,39′,77′,79′), 1-1 Nima Tamang (5′), 3-1,4-1 Carlos Hernández Valverde (22′,35′), 6-1 Shylo Malswam Tulunga (71′), 9-1 Mohammad Rafique (90+1′), 10-1 Míchael Steven Rodríguez Gutiérrez (90+3′ own goal)

10-November-2012: Dempo SC 4-1 Shillong Lajong FC (Margao)
Goals: 1-0,3-1 Ryuji Sueoka (45′,90′), 2-0 Clifford Miranda (50′), 2-1 Jibon Singh (73′), 4-1 Anthony Pereira (90+8′)

10-November-2012: Air India 0-3 East Bengal Club (Pune)
Goals: 0-1,0-2 Harmanjot Singh Khabra (37′,64′), 0-3 Penn Ikechukwu Orji (75′)

I've been reporting about football since 1998 - as founder of IndianFootball.Com, for other publications &amp; have also worked for radio &amp; television. You can follow me on my "Arunava About Football" blog <a href="">ArunFoot</a> &amp; on <a href="">Twitter</a>
Fetching more content...