I-League 2016-17: Sunil Chhetri wins 'Hero of the League' Award

Sunil Chhetri scored seven goals this year for Bengaluru FC
Press Release

The individual awards of the Hero I-League 2016-17 are finally confirmed following the votes cast by coaches and captains of the respective ten team.

Debjit Majumder (MB), with 8 clean sheets, wins the Best goalkeeper award of this season. Anas Edathodika (MB), who also recently made his international debut, edges others to win the ‘Jarnail Singh Best Defender’ of Hero I-League 2016-17 award.

Alfred Kemah Jaryan (AFC), the lynchpin of Aizawl FC's midfield, has been adjudged the Best Midfielder of Hero I-League 2016-17. There was very little competition for the Best Striker award as Aser Pierrick Dipanda Dicka (LAJ) grabbed the award, thanks to his tally of 11 goals in 18 matches.

Shillong Lajong striker Dicka’s 11 goals won him the Best Striker award

'Best Emerging Player of Hero I-League' award was inducted by the AIFF this season to encourage the youngsters and Jerry Lalrinzuala (DSK) grabs the award this season.

Khalid Jamil, who guided Aizawl FC to their historic I-League victory, is bestowed with the ‘Syed Abdul Rahim Best Coach Award’. The most coveted award of Hero I-League 2016-17, 'Hero of the League' goes to Bengaluru FC skipper Sunil Chhetri, who scored 7 goals in Hero I-League 2016-17.

Khalid Jamil led Aizawl to the title

Meanwhile, Churchill Brothers FC Goa, who made a comeback to the fray after a hiatus, win the 'Fairplay Award' of Hero I-League 2016-17. DSK Shivajians FC and Bengaluru FC share the 'Best Organiser Award' this season on the basis of points awarded by the respective AIFF Match Commissioners.

Edited by Staff Editor


Quick Links

More from Sportskeeda
Fetching more content...