Favorites Edit

James Rodriguez awarded the FIFA Puskas award

2.95K   //    13 Jan 2015, 00:22 IST
James Rodriguez
James Rodriguez

Colombia’s James Rodriguez was awarded the Puskas Award for the Best Goal of the year. James Rodriguez hit a stunning volley in Colombia’s win over Uruguay at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil. The youngster scored the most goals at the World Cup as well to be adjudged the top scorer of the tournament.

The Colombian beat Ireland’s Stephanie Roche and The Netherlands’ Robin van Persie to win the award.

Colombia were passing the ball around and a poor cross was met by an Uruguayan defender, who headed the ball away. The ball was headed back in the direction of James Rodriguez, who chested the ball first and turned and hit a fantastic volley without the ball touching the ground.

The ball beat Uruguayan goalkeeper Fernando Muslera as it went into the goal off the crossbar.

Colombia won the match 2-0 and James was given the best goal of the tournament award.

Rodriguez’s goal won 42% of the votes to edge out Stephanie Roche’s wonder strike, which received 33% of the votes. Robin van Persie’s goal was judged as the best goal of the year by 11% of the voters.

Here is the best goal of the year, 2014:

Topics you might be interested in:
Fetching more content...