Favorites Edit

Netherlands announce 30-man provisional squad for the FIFA World Cup 2014; Sneijder and Van Persie in

Snehartho Dey
23.26K   //    14 May 2014, 01:35 IST

Netherlands football team

After toying around with the press as he always loves to do, Louis Van Gaal has waited no longer to announce Netherlands’s 30-man provisional squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup tournament in Brazil.

The Dutch manager has revealed his preferred choices which unsurprisingly includes Robin Van Persie  as the main striker.

It was confirmed already that Kevin Strootman had sustained an injury which keeps him out from this edition of the tournament.

Van Gaal has mixed experience with youth  as his selection includes finalists of the previous tournament along with new legs that have impressed this season with their consistent performances.

Wesley Sneijder retakes his place in midfield after having an on and off time in the national team since Euro 2012. van Der Vaart also returns to partner Sneijder while winger Arjen Robben will be the man on whom Van Gaal will rely heavily in the competition.

FC Schalke’s Klaas Jan Huntelaar gets his second call for the World Cup while Depay and Jeremy Lens might get a chance to play their maiden tournament.

Newcastle United’s Tim Krul has been preferred as the first choice goalie ahead of Cillessen and Michael Vorm.

Holland meet their 2010 World Cup final foes Spain in the group stages apart of Chile and Australia in group B. Their campaign kicks off against Spain as they will look to avenge their 2010 final defeat on June 13.

Goalkeepers: Tim Krul (Newcastle), Jasper Cillessen (Ajax), Jeroen Zoet (PSV), Michael Vorm (Swansea)

Defenders: Daley Blind (Ajax), Joel Veltman (Ajax), Paul Verhaegh (Augsburg), Karim Rekik (PSV), Daryl Janmaat (Feyenoord), Terence Kongolo (Feyenoord), Stefan de Vrij (Feyenoord), Bruno Martins Indi (Feyenoord), Patrick van Aanholt (Vitesse), Ron Vlaar (Aston Villa)

Midfielders: Leroy Fer (Norwich), Jordy Clasie (Feyenoord), Jonathan de Guzman (Swansea), Wesley Sneijder (Galatasaray), Rafael van der Vaart (Hamburg), Tonny Vilhena (Feyenoord), Georginio Wijnaldum (PSV), Nigel de Jong (AC Milan)

Attackers: Klaas jan Huntelaar (Schalke), Jean Paul Boetius (Feyenoord), Quincy Promes (Twente), Robin van Persie (Man Utd), Memphis Depay (PSV), Dirk Kuyt (Fenerbahce), Jeremain Lens (Dynamo Kiev), Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich)

Topics you might be interested in:
Snehartho Dey
Fetching more content...